faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Are you troubled by the world?

on August 28, 2022

I am troubled by many things in this world.

You might be too.

I was reading some blogs and listening to a podcast today.

I thought I would share something that was helpful to me.

This refers to the Gospel of –>John 14:1-6

Jesus is talking to His Apostles at the Last Supper.

In the first verse, Jesus tells them not to let their hearts be troubled!

(Ok, so I am already in trouble, because I am troubled.)

Jesus says instead, we should trust in God.

He also says that in God’s house there are many rooms.

Then He says, “I am going away to prepare a place for you.”

And, “I will come back… so that where I am you may be also.”

So, this is what these verses in John said to me today —

Don’t let your heart be troubled, Jesus is coming back for YOU!

He has a place for you to live in God’s house.

When we arrive in Heaven, I anticipate hearing “Welcome home!”

Here is 1 important piece of advice from Psalm 118:9 —

“It is better to take refuge in the LORD than to trust in humans.”

Such good advice! Remember, God loves you.


5 responses to “Are you troubled by the world?

  1. I am thankful to trust in God at all times, especially when the world is filled with trouble.

    Like

  2. Anna Smit says:

    Dear Janet, thank you so much for sharing this. It feels like the Holy Spirit’s balm this morning, as He had been speaking that comfort over me so much lately in relation to my daughter’s fears about me dying (I have a heart condition – so there is a very real possibility that that might happen sooner than expected – teaching me to number my days to gain a heart of wisdom) – along with this Promise that He’s opened my heart to receive in a new way:

     “But now I am going to Him who sent Me; and none of you asks Me, ‘Where are You going?’ “But because I have said these things to you, sorrow has filled your heart. “But I tell you the truth, it is to your advantage that I go away; for if I do not go away, the Helper will not come to you; but if I go, I will send Him to you. “And He, when He comes, will convict the world concerning sin and righteousness and judgment; concerning sin, because they do not believe in Me; and concerning righteousness, because I go to the Father and you no longer see Me; and concerning judgment, because the ruler of this world has been judged.”

    Because when my Mum went to heaven, the Holy Spirit poured out upon me in power to bring me home: my faith was changed from the faith of my parents to my own in such an intimate and sweet way. He is so very faithful to us in His encouragement, isn’t He?

    Like

    • Anna, I am so happy you shared this. Knowing that death could come sooner than expected does help us cling to God. I am a cancer survivor, but I was not expected to live. Yet here I am. Just keep close to God and you will never despair. Yes, the Holy Spirit does encourage and lift us up! I rejoice in your strong faith!

      Like

      • Anna Smit says:

        Amen! The Holy Spirit does. It does help us cling to God and take us deeper in Him too, doesn’t it? He’s brought me through so much. I know Him to be so very faithful to His Word to us.

        Liked by 1 person

Share your comments