faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Awaken to God’s Voice

on August 18, 2017

Awaken 51vTJnghXsL

Today I am reviewing —

“Awaken”(90 Days with the God who speaks) by Priscilla Shirer.

This is a devotional with 90 short devotions.  I loved reading this book!

The devotions are short, but packed with encouraging insights.  Each devotion ends with Scripture and a question about your life or about your own relationship with God.  After each question, there is room for you to write your answer inside the book.  Since I have a Kindle version, my answers are in a separate notebook.  Because of this you may want to buy the print version of the book.

–>Go HERE to purchase.

Priscilla says that she wrote this book now, because she felt she had enough life experience as a Christian to write with some wisdom and depth.  She surely did that!  I highlighted a lot in this book!  There is so much good advice.  She is writing from her own life and revealing what has been helpful to her.

Priscilla also points out useful Scripture verses.  I need to memorize some of those!  How about this one?  – Elisha’s prayer in 2 Kings 6:17 is “Lord, please open his eyes and let him see.”  I can pray this for someone else, but I can also pray this for myself. Please open my eyes and let me see!  I want to see God working through the people around me, and I want to see where I can step in and be helpful.

Here is another Scripture that would be good to memorize: “Be kind to one another, tender-hearted, forgiving each other, just as God in Christ also has forgiven you. (Ephesians 4:32) Most of us have someone we need to forgive. I know I do!

I will definitely be following up on some of the things Priscilla suggests we do to get direction from God and to stay on the right path. 

One way to read this book is to read one devotion each day and answer the questions, then pray for God to show you how to apply it in your day or week.  If you have some days with more time available and other days too busy, you could read several devotions in one day, answering the questions that are easy for you, then return to the harder questions later, after taking time to think about them throughout the day.  I chose to read through the whole thing fairly quickly without answering the questions, and then go back and read more slowly, taking the time to answer each question. 

Whichever way you read this book, challenge yourself to answer each question.   Answering the questions will  “Awaken” you to how God is working in your life, and how you can include Him in your everyday life.

As Priscilla says, God is always there in your prayer times, in His Word, and in your heart.  Just open your eyes and see!

–>Click HERE for the book’s website with more information from Priscilla!

 

Share your comments

