faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Michelangelo’s Sistine Chapel

on February 6, 2017

sistinechapel-painting-561770__340

Michelangelo’s Sistine Chapel ceiling took 4 years to paint.

Noah took 120 years to build the ark.

The Winchester Cathedral in England was built in sections over 500 years!

winchestercathedral-220px-wincath30je6-4836wiki

It’s hard to understand how people can devote years to one project.  

Today a large church in the U.S. can be built in less than a year.  True they are not as beautiful as the oldest churches of Europe. 

It seems here in the U.S. we are always in a hurry.  We want everything done fast.  I have found that fast can often mean less good.  Also, fast can mean there is no value, no purpose other than to finish as quickly as possible.

For example, when I had a large yard with a garden, I would cook fresh vegetables. 

One of my favorite things to cook was pumpkin pie from scratch.  I would pick a pumpkin I had grown in my garden, cut it open and scoop out the seeds and gunky stuff.  Then I would partially cook it so I could cut off the rind and cut the pumpkin up to fully cook.  Then I would mash it.  Then I would add spices and cook it until soft.  Then the other ingredients like milk would be added.  I would make a crust and press it in the bottom of a pie pan.  The pumpkin filling would be poured into the pie pan and cooked in the oven.  Although this type of pumpkin pie was a lighter color than what we see in a store, it was more delicious.  The pie took me all day to make, but was eaten in a matter of 20 minutes by my family. Those pies were popular, much requested, and made for special occasions only.

Have you ever made a pie from scratch?  Today most people buy a pie in the grocery store or from a bakery.  Some people will buy canned filling and refrigerated crust to make their pie, which is what I would do now.  It’s fast, but the faster the process, the less good it tastes, and the less good it is for you.  Also, when we make it fast, we don’t have time to think about the value of what we are making.

The same is true of a painting, or a song.  If you paint it or write it in 15 minutes, the results will not be as good as if you took days or weeks to create it.  It takes time to think about what result you want, and plan the best way to do that.

When I cook dinner, I sometimes think about how many people worked many hours to provide the meal I eat.  A meal of chicken and potatoes with green beans and carrots, takes someone to prepare the land, people to plant, weed, spray, harvest, ship, clean, process as canned or frozen, then shippers to transport, and grocery store workers to display and sell it.  Of course the chickens have to be fed and transported and butchered.  It humbles me to realize that so many people are dedicated to their job in order to feed all of us people.  Yes they make a living out of it, but think about what we would eat if we had to raise all of our own food.  I know that I would eat a lot less, because it is hard work to prepare from scratch, and to care for a garden. 

If Michelangelo only took 1 month to paint the Sistine Chapel, we would not see beautiful paintings that amaze us.  We would see simple paintings with broad strokes and little detail. They would be nice, but not amazing.

Perhaps to see the beauty of anything, or to create something of beauty, we need to slow down.  

To appreciate what God created for us in our universe, we need to slow down.  We need to stop and smell the flowers and watch the breeze blow through the trees, and listen to birds singing.  We would have time to look for the details and care God took to create this amazing world we live in.  He made this world for us.  It is an expression of His love for us.  Sure He created it in one week, but it continues to grow and change and is still beautiful thousands maybe millions of years later.  It humbles me to know how much God loves us.  It encourages me to slow down and appreciate the beauty of this world, the abundance of colorful plants and the variety of animal species, the sounds of music in many different styles, the power of the ocean…

The whole earth is filled with God’s glory! I praise you God! I thank You. 

I worship You.

Please take time to slow down for just one day, and see the beauty all around you, and appreciate what God and so many people do for you throughout your day.  

I would love to hear what you noticed more when you slowed down for a day.  Tell me about it in the comments below, and thank you for sharing your thoughts.

2 responses to “Michelangelo’s Sistine Chapel

  1. mimionlife says:

    God blesses us with the most wonderful, beautiful sights, sounds, and more to enjoy. We just need to slow down and pause and experience His glory.

    Like

Share your comments

