faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

One Word for 2017

on January 2, 2017

laracasey-2017goalsetting

My One Word for 2017 is “Forward”.

I was working on setting goals for the New Year, using Lara Casey’s blog, 2017 Goal Setting Series.  I like her style of setting goals that are encouraging.  Lara also makes it fun by having a big giveaway! Her goal setting blog series and giveaway are >HERE!

In the process of reviewing last year from step 1 of Lara’s blog, I was thinking about what would my >One Word be for next year?  (Every year I pick a word that will help direct my entire year.)  I thought of “forward”, but I wasn’t sure. 

God has been showing me “forward” is exactly the “One Word” I need!

At church the weekend of New Year’s Day, our minister talked about leaving last year behind, and moving forward into 2017! “Wow” I thought, “Forward really is my word for 2017!” Then Sunday afternoon, when I was reading a Bible study, the word “forward” came up again.  So now it was certain, my One Word for 2017 was “FORWARD”!

If you pick some goals or “One Word” for 2017, you first need to leave 2016 behind.  Do you feel like you can’t step forward yet?  If so, then something is holding you back.  At church we sang these words >“Break every chain, a song by Tasha Cobbs .  You need to break free of whatever guilt, shame, or regret you are holding on to! Tell God you are sorry, and let God forgive you.  Know that God has put all your sin so far away that He no longer remembers it.  You can then forgive yourself for any mistakes from the past (if God can forgive you, you can), then step FORWARD into your new year!

Each step is progress!

You may choose a different “One Word”, or you may pick a New Year’s resolution or goal instead, but if you break free from the past, then you can step forward toward your goal.

One of the things I am having trouble leaving behind is my fear.  Fear has held me back for years!  So this year, using my One Word “Forward”, my goal is leaving the fear behind.  One of the ways I am doing this is reading a new book by >Kelly Balarie, >“Fear Fighting.  Kelly tackles fear head on, and she knows from experience.  She had many fears, and she didn’t like how that affected her life and her family.  Since it worked for Kelly, I am jumping into the book to use her “Fear Fighting” tactics!

Paperback3DTemplates_5.5x8.5.indd >See the book here.

I am praying that you can step forward into 2017 and make progress toward your goals!

If you want to tell me what your goals or One Word are for this year, tell me in the comments below. I will read every comment.

 

 

9 responses to “One Word for 2017

  1. Savurbks says:

    My word for the year is “Joy”…finding it, spreading, enjoying it, living it!

    Last year my goal was “Faith greater than fear” and I conquered things I never thought I would be able to do…scuba diving, half marathon, bead work…I hope the same for you as you move “forward” this year!

    Happy New Year!

    Like

    • Wow! It sounds like your 2016 was successful beating fear! I won’t be swimming or running, but there are some things I have been afraid to tackle, so we will see what I get done in 2017. Joy is a super Word for 2017! That should make this year so exciting for you, and for people who know you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. finchnwren says:

    “Forward”–and eradicating fear–what great goals! Thank you for sharing.

    I had to smile at one of your comments; my word for 2017 is also “joy”! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think there was a reason for me participating today in Coffee for Your Heart, and that was to find your blog and the serendipitous discovery of Lara Casey. Thank you for blessing me today!

    Like

  4. Hi Janet, I love how your word came about and the confirmation you received. My word this year is NEW and I’m excitingly looking forward to the NEW things God will do in my life and in those around me.
    So glad to have met you today!
    Blessings to you as you move FORWARD and overcome your fears.
    Marva | SunSparkleShine

    Like

    • So nice to meet you! “NEW” is a great way to focus the New Year! It should be exciting with all kinds of new things to experience. It is so fun to pick “One Word” to guide us through the new year, instead of resolutions that tend to make me feel guilty and flawed. I am so glad to stopped by and commented here! Maybe we will run into each other again sometime.

      Liked by 1 person

Share your comments

