faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

I Am Going

on December 30, 2016

First let me say, I’m not really going anywhere.

 I am reviewing the book “I Am Going” by Daniel L. Akin.

This is a small book that gives a good explanation for one Scripture.

It explains “The Great Commission”.  This is what Jesus says in Matthew 28:19-20. “Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always,even to the end of the age.”

If you are like me, and never really understood the meaning of this, then this book is a good explanation for you.  I now have a better understanding of how to do what Jesus told us to do in this Scripture.

Several places in the book, the authors give you a statement to fill in, committing to do something.  For example at the end of the book, you are asked to fill in this:

“I am going to _________.”

But let me say that not everyone is expected to go to another country!  The authors explain that some are called to be missionaries, but the rest of us have other ways to follow this Scripture.  There are several options thankfully.

This is a very short book, and small in size.  Sometimes the explanations are a bit too short.  After reading the book once, I am not ready to fill in all the blanks given in the book.  I will be re-reading it, so I can take time to think and pray, before I make a decision as to what Jesus is asking me to do.  I would recommend the same thing to you and other readers.

If you have always wanted to be a missionary to another country, then maybe you don’t need to read this book.  Just make plans to go.  But if like me, you shudder at the thought of being a missionary, then this book is a good place to start.

To read part of the book, or to purchase, Click here.

I did receive a free copy of this book from B&H Publishing, so I could write an honest review of it.

BH BlueBloggerBadge

 

Share your comments

