faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Christmas Promises Holiness

on December 19, 2016

churchepiscopal-stmartins-texas

–Are you holy?

 If you believe that Jesus is your Savior, then yes you are holy!

Did you know you are holy?  Scripture says you are.  –In Ephesians 1:4 Scripture says, “For He (God) chose us in Him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in His (God’s) sight.” (NIV)

God did not want us to be shameful or guilty or rejected.  God wants us to be holy as all His creation should be.

I was familiar with this Scripture in Ephesians and memorized it, and I use it all the time to encourage myself.  But last weekend at church I found out more about our holiness in Hebrews.

Hebrews 10:9-10 says, “Then He (Jesus) said, “Here I am, I have come to do your will.” …   And by that will, we have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.”

So here is the Apostle Paul telling us that Jesus, through His death on earth, made us holy!  Not only that, but Jesus made us holy “once for all”!

To be sure that we understand, Paul says in Hebrews 10:14, “For by one sacrifice He (Jesus) has made perfect forever those who are being made holy.” (NIV)

Jesus made us perfect forever, made us holy!  Awesome!

We all doubt sometimes that we are good enough.  We all make mistakes, and say something we regret.  But that is ok.  God knows we will make mistakes.  God knows we will have doubts.  But God is telling us in His Scriptures, that Jesus paid the price, made the one sacrifice needed, to make us holy and perfect forever! (Perfect is just another word for blameless, so these Scriptures are in agreement.)

So I suggest that we memorize at least 1 of these Scriptures.  Pick one. Then whenever we have doubts of being not good enough, or we have guilt over something we said, go back to the memorized Scripture.  Let God’s Scripture remind us that Jesus made us holy and perfect forever!  There is no other debt owed.  Jesus paid it all.  You owe nothing to the world. 

If you see a need that you have the opportunity to fill, don’t think you cannot do it.  Remember that you are holy and blameless!  Remember Jesus is with you.   Just repeat Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (NKJV).

This is a good time to remember these Scriptures, because at Christmas we celebrate the birth of Jesus.  The birth of Jesus is what set this holy plan in motion on earth.  From birth to death, Jesus was meant to be the 1 holy sacrifice ever needed to wash away our sins and leave us holy and blameless forever.

This was the perfect plan for the perfect Jesus to save us.  Praise God! Amen! 

bg-blogger-badge-500x500-e1387301563797I used www.BibleGateway.com for quoted Bible verses.

badge-dreamtogether-linkup Find me on this link up www.godsizeddreams.com

Holley-Gerth-Button-250x250and this link up www.HolleyGerth.com

4 responses to “Christmas Promises Holiness

  1. Being Woven says:

    This woman needs this reminder because she forgets just Who created her…seeing myself as less than the perfect and holy and blameless and righteous one that He made. I am doing a Bible study on how God sees me and it is just hard for me as I have spent much of my 69 years beating myself over the head with doubt and criticism and shame. Most of that came initially from others and now from me. Thank you.

    Like

    • I know what you mean! I have had so many fears and doubts most of my life. Ephesians 1:4 saved me! And I was so glad when a minister at my church spoke on Hebrews 10. It just fortified my spirit. Thank you for letting me know this post helped. Jesus is the reason we are holy!

      Like

  2. Thank you, Janet, for such wonderful reminders that we serve an awesome Savior who doesn’t just leave us in our sinful, broken state–but rescues us, cleanses us from ALL unrighteousness and calls us holy! Thank you, Lord! Blessed to visit from Holley Gerth’s place! 🙂

    Like

Share your comments

