faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

The Secret Power

on November 11, 2016
scripture-delight*picture from FaithGateway

The Secret Power, of speaking God’s word” is a book by Joyce Meyer.

I have come back to this book over and over.  It has been so helpful to me.

The book is broken up into topics (like anger, worry, and loneliness), and lists Scriptures that are relevant.  We are supposed to read the Scripture out loud, maybe even memorize it, so we can repeat it whenever we need it

Most issues like anger, worry, and loneliness, do not go away forever when we speak Scripture over it.  Those feelings may weaken, or they may go away for a while.  When the feelings return, we can use Joyce’s book to find the Scriptures to help us again.  This is why I have kept my copy, and refer to it when I need help with a problem.

For me I have dealt often with fear, and the need for healing.  When I was battling cancer, I used Scriptures and prayer.  Here are two Scriptures I used listed in this book –

“I will listen closely to God’s words.  I will not let them out of my sight – I will keep them within my heart; for they are life to all who find them and health for the whole body.” (Proverbs 4:20-22)

“He sends His word and heals me and rescues me from the pit and destruction.” (Psalm 107:20)

After battling cancer for 4 years, today I have been cancer-free for 6 years!

Now, I find myself reaching for this book again.  This time I am dealing with grief and betrayal, so I looked at the Scriptures listed in the section on “forgiveness”.

If I forgive people their trespasses, my heavenly Father will also forgive me.” (Matthew 6:14) 

Joyce Meyer explains this Scripture further — If we forgive people their reckless and willful sins, letting them go, and giving up resentment, our heavenly Father will also forgive us.

This has helped me so much.  Today I am reaching toward forgiveness, and changing my attitude toward these people.  I will most likely need to return to this Scripture and Joyce’s explanation of it several times, but I will be able to forgive in time.  I plan to memorize this one sentence Scripture, so I can repeat it every time the feelings of grief, hurt and betrayal return.

God’s word is powerful!

 You have an entire Bible full of powerful Scriptures, but Joyce Meyer’s book helps to find the right Scriptures for our problems.

You can look inside the book at Amazon.com to see the entire list of 55 topics.

Click “Look Inside”.  The book is available for purchase there as well.

joycemeyer-thesecretpower

Share your comments

