faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

The Mom Quilt

on August 26, 2016

This is my book review of “The Mom Quilt

(stitching together stories of motherhood).

bookcover MomQuilt

This is the reason I got involved in this book project.–

All profits from the sale of this book go to the charity “The Mercy House” in Kenya, which provides a safe home for young pregnant ladies to live, give birth, and set up their life so each can raise their child.  The proceeds from this book have already helped build a well for clean water for this community. 

 I wanted to help the young pregnant ladies at “The Mercy House” keep their babies and learn how to support their young family.  I volunteered to write one of the stories in this book.  I was so happy when a paperback copy of the book became available, so I could purchase one for my bookshelves at home.  I was happy to do that to help raise funds for the children and mothers of “The Mercy House”.

So when I decided to start reading the stories in the book, I was amazed!  So many women (63) volunteered their time to write about their experiences being a mother.  There are so many different ways to be a mother, and so many different experiences.  I found every story to be compelling!  Some women talk about joy, some about responsibilities, some about health problems with the baby, some even about losing the baby.

All of these stories are true!

All of these stories are full of emotions.  All of these stories teach us something about being a mother.  These true stories are encouraging and challenging to us as mothers, whether you are a mother of several children, or you are pregnant with your first child.  Reading these stories you will feel joy, courage, sadness, and hope.

There are 63 stories in this book.  They all deserve to be in the book.  I enjoyed reading every single one of them! The title “The Mom Quilt” describes how each of these stories, like squares in a quilt, were all stitched together into one book.  The threads link all mothers’ hearts.

I would challenge you to buy two copies of this book, one for you, and one to give as a gift.  This book would make a beautiful gift for any mother or mother soon to be, or even a mother who has recently lost a baby.  All of these situations are included in this book.  All of these stories are told by the woman who experienced them.  These are first person, memoir type stories. 

After reading these stories, I feel like I have friends I want to get to know better.

At the back of the book, there is a list of the authors and their websites for those that have one.  You are able to communicate with any of these women that you would like to know more about.  I know that I plan to check out some of their websites and let them know how much I identified with their story, and how much I appreciate them sharing their story with us.

At this time, “The Mom Quilt” book is available in paperback format only from Amazon.com.

You can find out more about The Mercy House charity or donate directly to them at http://MercyHouseGlobal.com

 

2 responses to “The Mom Quilt

  1. Savurbks says:

    Thank-you for being a part of this incredible project; I plan on accepting your challenge!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much! I really appreciate your encouragement. I know you will enjoy this book, and so will the person you gift a copy to.

    Like

Share your comments

