faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Eating With Jesus

on August 14, 2016

Our church is starting an interesting sermon series on eating with Jesus.  Jesus shares many meals in the Bible.  I am thinking today, that I might be missing an important ministry opportunity. 

Here is what I am thinking about today, as I celebrate the Lord’s Day.

Who does Jesus eat with?

In Matthew 9:10-12, it describes Jesus asking Matthew to follow Him, and He goes to Matthew’s house to eat.  Since Matthew was a tax collector, there were other tax collectors eating there too. 

Jesus also ate at the home of a Pharisee, as described in Luke 11:37-41.

Jesus ate the Last Supper with His Apostles, described in Mark 14:16-26.

Jesus also ate with the Apostles after his resurrection, when they ate fish and bread on the shore. This is found in John 21:5-19.

Why does Jesus eat with other people?

Eating with people produces a bond of friendship. All those present are safe, protected by the host’s invitation. Sometimes Jesus taught, and sometimes He repaired friendships over a meal.  

When eating with Matthew and the other tax collectors, Jesus was reaching out to a group that the Pharisees normally ignored, the tax collectors.  Jesus wanted to save these lost sinners.

At the last supper, Jesus was teaching his Apostles about what would happen next, and preparing them for the future.

Eating with the Apostles on the shore after they were fishing, here Jesus is repairing His relationship with Peter who had denied Him three times.  He is also encouraging His Apostles so they will be prepared for life without Jesus in the flesh.

Today we eat with Jesus at communion. It helps us form a bond with Jesus, and know that He loves us, for He has invited us to remember Him at communion. We remember that we are forgiven and saved by the power of Jesus and our faith.

How can I use a meal as a ministry?

Jesus shows us by example how to minister to others through having a meal together.  The minister at our church challenged us to think about who we could invite to dinner to share about Jesus, or to form a bond of friendship with so we can later share about Jesus.  Or maybe if we have a conflict with another Christian, we could use a meal invitation to repair our friendship

I have not used a meal as a ministry in many years.  In the past I would invite neighbors over for a cookout, or invite a church family over to share a home cooked meal with.  I have thought about inviting a couple from church that I have not seen much lately, to meet at a restaurant.  That is even easier, because there is no meal preparation, just good conversation. 

I need to pray and ask God, “Who do I need to meet with over a meal?”.  Maybe you need to ask God the same question. Do you relate to this?

Who do you need to meet with over a meal?

bg-blogger-badge-500x500-e1387301563797I have used BibleGateway for links to Bible verses.

MissionalWomen FridayLinkUp I linked up with FFF at http://www.missionalwomen.com

5 responses to “Eating With Jesus

  1. Mary Geisen says:

    Thank you Janet. I appreciate your reflection on who Jesus ate with and the significance of each meal. I have not really dug into this before so I am intrigued by your words. I also have been asking the question of who I should invite to dinner or eat with to establish deeper relationships. Good to be here today.

    Like

    • So nice to hear from you Mary! It certainly is something I have not considered before this weekend’s sermon. Dinner with people has a great potential for ministry. I am not sure where this will go as I am still praying about who to invite. I appreciate your input and encouragement. Thanks!

      Like

  2. Karen says:

    I love that in Revelation the imagery for lasting fellowship is ‘marriage supper of the Lamb.’ Such a great picture of relaxation, enjoyment and friendship. Thanks!

    Like

    • Oh Karen thank you for telling me this! I was not familiar with this term “marriage supper of the Lamb“, so I looked it up.
      The quote is from Revelation 19:7-9,
      Let us rejoice and exult
      and give him the glory,
      for the marriage of the Lamb has come,
      and his Bride has made herself ready;
      it was granted her to clothe herself
      with fine linen, bright and pure”— for the fine linen is the righteous deeds of the saints. And the angel said to me, “Write this: Blessed are those who are invited to the marriage supper of the Lamb.” And he said to me,“These are the true words of God.””

      There is celebrating in these verses because the marriage supper of the bride (the church of believers in Jesus Christ) and the bridegroom (Jesus Christ himself) is about to begin in Heaven! The marriage supper is a celebration of the wedding that had already taken place.
      Today, we know that Jesus will return, and He will take His people with Him to Heaven for this celebration! It is why there is much made of suppers in the Bible. It is why the 1st miracle Jesus performs is at a wedding. It is why Jesus teaches the disciples at the Last Supper about remembering Him with bread and wine. One day we will be re-united with Jesus Christ in Heaven!
      I learned something today. Thank you, Karen!
      (I found this information at 2 websites http://Bible-truth.org and http://www.gotquestions.org )

      Like

      • Karen says:

        I love that imagery too. How wonderful it will be when we can celebrate with the Bridegroom what has already taken place! “Amen. Come Lord Jesus!” Rev 22:20!!

        Liked by 1 person

Share your comments

