faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Hot Enough?

on July 24, 2016

Right now the weather is too hot for lots of people.  People are coming down to Florida this summer for cooler temperatures!  Much of this country is over 100 this summer.

I am a person who is always cold, so I like hot weather.  I love living in Florida!  Other people like cold weather, so they love living up north.  They like winter.  I don’t.  This difference in preference may also affect whether people like to drink hot coffee or cold coffee or tea.  I always have been a hot tea drinker.  When we go to a restaurant and order tea, they will ask do you want hot tea or iced?  Then they ask sweet or unsweetened, which is a whole other kind of thing.  

Jesus addresses the hot or cold issue.

In Revelation (3:14-22), Jesus says that the people of the church in Laodicea, are not hot or cold, they are lukewarm and He is going to spit them out!  So, are you lukewarm, not hot enough?  I think I’m often not hot enough. When I feel lazy or too comfortable, I try to figure out how to get more on fire for Jesus.  Jesus wants us to have passion for God.

So here are some ways I have been working on my fire and passion.

First there is going to church every weekend.  Not once in a while, but every weekend. I want God to be a priority in my life.  When I am at church, I sing loud during worship.  I put up my hands and I sing to God.  I listen to the sermon so I can learn something, and usually take a few notes.  I donate to special projects and missionaries that the church is supporting.  I often donate right then when it is mentioned, so I don’t go home and forget about it.

At home, I spend time in prayer every day.  I give thanks to God for the many blessings in my life.  I take time to ask God questions and listen for His answers.  This keeps me coming back for more prayer time, because I am eager to see how God will answer prayers.

I spend time reading and studying the Bible.  This gets me yearning for more God in my life.  I also read Christian books.  I love to read, and I learn so much from Christian authors!  They encourage me and get me excited about what God has done in their lives.

I also write this blog.  This blog helps keep me in the Scriptures.  I follow other Christian blogs.  I also follow Christian people on Twitter and Facebook.  This all helps keep God on my mind.  It keeps me thinking, and growing, and learning.

Whenever I start to feel lukewarm about God, I turn to one of these activities to bring me back into God’s love and grace.  God is awesome!  I just need to remember that all the time.  I need to keep my mind on God.  I need to stay passionate for God.  

How do you stay passionate for God?  

 

2 responses to “Hot Enough?

  1. Savurbks says:

    Wonderful post! Keep up the great writing (and stay cool- or warm, if you prefer)!

    Like

Share your comments

