faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Giddy Up

on July 8, 2016

This is my book review of “Giddy Up, Eunice” by Sophie Hudson

BH BlueBloggerBadge

First I need to tell you, that this book has nothing to do with a horse, despite the title “Giddy Up….”  After reading this book, I still have no idea why the author used “Giddy Up” in the title.  Maybe when you read the book you can figure that out and tell me. Eunice is Timothy’s mother.  Timothy is mentored by Apostle Paul, and is referenced in the Bible (1Timothy and 2Timothy).

Second, the book is written in a very casual southern style.  I found this a bit annoying.  I have not read anything by this author before.  She used phrases like “surely can”, and “a good talkin’-to”, and of course “y’all”.  She also made up words like “sarcasterisks” for “*”, and “judge-y” for “judgmental”.  She also likes to put sentences in ALL CAPS for emphasis.  Some people might find this all endearing, but to me, it was distracting and annoying.  I know I said annoying twice.  I’m just making a point.

Once I ignored all these issues, I did enjoy the section of the book about Mary (the mother of Jesus) and Elizabeth (the mother of John the Baptist).  I never realized that they probably encouraged each other during their visit when they were both pregnant for the first time, and both being a big part of God’s plan to bring us all a savior.  That is pretty amazing!  I also liked the section on Ruth.  The author did a good job explaining Boaz as the kinsman redeemer who marries Ruth.

I had high hopes for this book,

since Beth Moore wrote the Foreword.  The book is written in a similar style to the way Beth Moore talks, which is fun to listen to, and makes her seem like a friend or a sister, but writing a book in that style just doesn’t work for me.  I guess you can decide whether the things I mentioned that annoy me, would annoy you too or not.  If you like the casual southern speaking style, then you might really enjoy this book.

You can read a small portion of the book (which I recommend) and purchase it if you like on Amazon.com 

I did receive a free copy of this book from B&H Publishing, so I could write an honest review.

One response to “Giddy Up

  1. Thank you for reading and liking this book review. I would love it if you would use a share button to share this review on Facebook or Twitter! The buttons are just above the Like button. Thanks so much!

    Like

Share your comments

