faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Don’t Wait Anymore

on July 1, 2016

My book review of “I Don’t Wait Anymore”  — by Grace Thornton

Book DontWaitAnymore

I enjoyed reading this book.  Although the author is single, and for much of her adult life, she found herself wondering why she was still single, this does not overshadow the book’s message.  I am married, but I still found this book relevant.

The author’s question was “Why did my plans not work out, even though I felt God was calling me to do this?”

The scripture she uses to find an answer is from,

Jeremiah 29:13, —  “You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.”–

In the process of seeking God, and seeking answers to questions, she realized that she did not need a better life…

 She needed a “radically different” life!

This book explains how her life became “radically different”.  She details experiences in her life, and mostly tells us about what she wrote in her journals.  She tells us about her disappointments, wrong paths, and the direction God took her, and her thoughts about all these experiences.  At the end of the book, she also gives us her advice on how we can turn our life into something “radically different”.

I wish the author, Grace Thornton, had written more information about her current “radically different” life, so I would have a better idea what she means by that phrase, “radically different”.  She tells us about her life that wasn’t working the way she had planned, and what events pushed her to change.  She tells us her philosophy about life’s purpose and what can give meaning to our lives, but I don’t know if I can trust her advice.  I don’t know her.  I don’t know if her current life is what I would consider different or successful, or one I would want to seek.  She doesn’t give us enough details about her life currently, only about her past experiences.

Still the book was interesting, and I enjoyed reading about her life and about her philosophy about God.  It just isn’t a book that will make me change my life.  I did relate to some of her thoughts about life, before she radically changed.  I could say, “yeah that’s what I felt too.  I have been there.” 

Grace Thornton is a new author.  This is a good book, an interesting book, well written.  I would love to read a sequel from the author, one that tells us more about where God took her life, now that she is “radically different”.  That could be an even better book.  

I hope you read this, Grace, and write that sequel.

To read a portion of this book, and to purchase it, go to Amazon.com

I did receive a free copy of this book from the publisher through BookLook Bloggers, in order to write an honest review.

BookLookBlogger badge

 

2 responses to “Don’t Wait Anymore

  1. This is a great review. I have seen this book pop up different places and I have wondered what it is about. Thank you for your honest opinion about the book!

    Like

Share your comments

