faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Focus Here Right Now

on May 29, 2016

Since my One Word for 2016 is “Re-Focus”, my year so far has been about focusing on what is important.  Today I am looking at what is important right now, right here.

In the Bible it says,”Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.” (Philippians 4:8)

I memorized this verse, but sometimes I forget parts of it.  I thought I would look at what it means right now today.

Whatever is true – That is easy for me, since I love looking for truth.  Today, I found a blog post that said God is family.  That is so true.  We are part of God’s family.  As a Christian, I believe that we have been adopted into God’s family, because Jesus redeemed us.

Whatever is noble – First I need to know what noble means.  Although it can mean someone with a high political status, like a queen, that isn’t what God is talking about here.  Noble means having fine personal qualities or high moral principles and ideals.  For me this Sunday, that would be ministers at my church.  Several ministers there have good character and morals.  I respect that about them.  They genuinely care about people, pray with them, teach them about the truths from the Bible, and they strive to be a good example for others in the way they live.

Whatever is rightToday what is right is that I finish reading a book, “When Breath Becomes Air”, which was written by a doctor who was dying of cancer.  He took some of his precious time to write the book, because he wanted to tell people something important, and he did. It is right that I take the time to read this book.

Whatever is pureIn our world it is difficult to find purity.  To me, what is pure is the song of a wren.  I always stop to listen when a wren sings.  Do you want to share a different pure sound you enjoy?  Put your link in the comments below.  I will listen to it.

Whatever is lovelyThe dictionary says lovely means exquisitely beautiful.  That brings to mind a beautiful painting or poem or sunset.  I choose to share today a lovely shell like the one found at a beach nearby.

sand-dollar-642702

Do you have a beautiful picture or poem you would like to share in the comments? We would all like to see it.

Whatever is admirableMy husband is admirable for spending Sunday mornings teaching 4th and 5th graders at church.  He is there now.  I admire that about him.

If anything is excellent or praiseworthyThat would be Jesus, his grace and forgiveness is unending, and deserves praise.

Now, all I need to do is think about all these things today

Want to join me? 

bg-blogger-badge-500x500-e1387301563797 The source of my Bible quote today.

2 responses to “Focus Here Right Now

  1. gzylinski says:

    Hi, Janet! Great post. If a sound could personify purity, for me, it would have to be a waterfall. The roar of Snowqualmie Falls in WA state is especially memorable. 🙂

    Like

Share your comments

