faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Unconditional Surrender

on May 8, 2016

What does unconditional mean?  It means that something you do is not subject to conditions; it is done wholeheartedly and is unlimited in scope.

We are supposed to have unconditional love for our spouse, and for our own children.

I feel that I have that.  I can say that I love them no matter what…  No matter what happens. No matter what they do or say.   I might not be happy about something that happened, or something they said or did, but I still love them.  My love has no conditions, it is wholehearted and unlimited.

We, as Christians, are supposed to have unconditional surrender to Jesus.

HolleyGerth encouragement Romans828   Romans 8:28

That one I am struggling with.  We should be able to say, “Jesus, I surrender my will to you no matter what happens, no matter what you say or do, no matter what you tell me to say or do;  even if I don’t agree, or I don’t want to do what You say.”  We are supposed to still do His will out of obedience.  In other words, our surrender to Jesus is supposed to be wholehearted and unlimited, with no conditions.

It is scary really.  I know that is what God wants from us.  It is just really hard to do.  I am taking steps to surrender more of my life to Him; I am just not quite at unconditional surrender yet.

In wars, if there was an unconditional surrender, then the losing side was allowing the winning side to do whatever they wanted with those who surrendered. 

1 Samuel 11:10  They said to the Ammonites, “Tomorrow we will surrender to you, and you can do to us whatever you like.”

It is similar with Jesus.  We surrender to Him, because He wins the war.  He has overcome evil.  He has gotten rid of our sins.  We are then allowing Jesus to do whatever He wants with us.  Luckily, Jesus is not our enemy.  Jesus loves us.  We will be rewarded with goodness and many blessings.

It is only fair that we surrender to Jesus.  In Luke 23:24-25, Jesus is surrendered by Pilate to the will of the people, to be crucified, as the crowd cried out to crucify Him.  Jesus surrendered His will unconditionally to the will of God the Father, who sacrificed Jesus so that we could be forgiven and have eternal life with Him in Heaven.

 It seems we owe Him unconditional surrender!

How about you? Have you given unconditional surrender to Jesus? Please share your comments below.

bg-blogger-badge-500x500-e1387301563797     www.BibleGateway.com

Share your comments

