faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

He Speaks to Me

on May 6, 2016

This is my book review of “He Speaks to Me” by Priscilla Shirer —

Maybe you know Priscilla Shirer from her recent movie “War Room”.  If you haven’t seen it, it is out on DVD now, so you really need to see it.  Awesome movie!

But Priscilla also writes books.  I want to share with you a little bit about her book “He Speaks to Me”.

HeSpeaksToMe Cover

I found myself wanting to hear God’s voice, but not knowing how to do that.  How would I know it was God?  Do I have to say a prayer first?  I thought this book would help.  The subtitle for “He Speaks to Me” is “Preparing to Hear From God”.  That was where I was.  I wanted to hear God’s voice, but I couldn’t hear Him, and I didn’t know what I needed to do, so I could hear it.  I needed some preparation.

Be Humble.

Surprisingly, Priscilla says that to hear God, we need to be humble.  Pride gets in the way.  Humility keeps the lines of communication open between you and God.  That makes sense, but I wasn’t expecting that!

Go to God first!

Then she also says that we need to seek Him first.  You know how we always start with friends when we need advice or agreement?  That just puts all their words in the way.  Go to God first!  When you need an answer, first go ask God in prayer!  When you get up in the morning, talk to God first.

Quit being so busy!

Ok, I’m going to tell you one more thing Priscilla says, then you get yourself a copy of this book and read it!  You need to stop.  Quit being so busy!  Take three slow, deep breaths.  Now you can listen for God’s voice.

Hear God’s voice.

Now, each day, I can hear God’s voice.  This book helped me do the right things, so I was able to hear His voice.  It took a bit of practice, but now I can stop, take a few deep breaths, pray, and then listen for God’s voice.

Find the book here. 

 

Share your comments

