faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

I Have a Question

on April 24, 2016

Janet ThyWillBeDone

Have you survived something that left you with scars?

How did you survive it?

Are you in the middle of a difficult problem that leaves you feeling like your life is crashing down around you?  How do you deal with it?

Are you being accused of something you did not do?  What is your response?

Do you run away? Do you yell? Do you hide? Do you defend yourself?

Or do you grab hold of your faith in God and push through the problem, deal with it full of faith that God will get you through this?

If you do this, you will emerge stronger, wiser, and with a deeper faith in God.  You will know that God is always with you.  You will know that with faith in God you can handle any problem.  You will know that you are better prepared for the next problem

And those scars? The scars remind you that you fought a fierce battle, and with God’s help, you survived it.  You can’t live this life on your own.  You need God.  You need your faith in God.

Here are three examples of people who grabbed hold of their faith in God to deal with a major problem.  Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego —

Daniel 3:5-6 …you must fall down and worship the image of gold that King Nebuchadnezzar has set up.  Whoever does not fall down and worship will immediately be thrown into a blazing furnace.

Daniel 3:12 …Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego—who pay no attention to you, Your Majesty. They neither serve your gods nor worship the image of gold you have set up.”

Daniel 3:16-18 …Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego replied to him, “King Nebuchadnezzar, we do not need to defend ourselves before you in this matter.  If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to deliver us from it, and he will deliver us from Your Majesty’s hand.  But even if he does not, we want you to know, Your Majesty, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up.

These three men did not change their behavior, but a new law could bring their lives to an end.  Yet, they did not defend their behavior, nor run, nor hide, nor yell, nor beg for mercy.  These three men grabbed hold of their faith in God, and knew that God would bring them through this, even if it meant they would die and go to God in Heaven. 

Miraculously they are thrown into the fiery furnace, and come out with no injuries.  God could have left them alive, but scarred.  They could have died.

No matter the outcome, they knew that the best way to deal with this problem was to grab hold of their faith in God.

Imagine how strong their faith is after this miracle!

 Several times in the Bible Jesus says “Your faith has healed you.” 

In Luke 7:50, Jesus also says “Your faith has saved you.” 

This is the power of faith! 

 

6 responses to “I Have a Question

  1. bydesign001 says:

    Excellent post. Yes, I have lived it and know of the Father pulling us through the darkest of times. He game me, my family strength. The Lord was there for us and it is because of Him, my faith in Him that we came out, STRONGER.

    Please allow me to share the moment when I knew without a doubt that He walked with me, better yet carried me.

    The Friday after Thanksgiving 1986, one day before my 31st birthday began a long 15 years for me and my family. My mother passed away that day and I lost one sister three years later. Two years after that (1991), my baby sister was killed by a drunken driver and my husband became disabled. In 1993, my uncle, the rock of the family died of lung cancer. All the while, I raised my son and three nieces, all living on one salary, mine. In NYC (or anyplace for that matter), that is quite a feat. My work hours were grueling.

    While I tried to put on a brave front and hang on to my faith, there were moments, MOMENTS that challenged me. There was this one moment as things climaxed that I stood in the center of my living room, called out to the Lord.

    Actually, it was more than a moment, I did not realize until I sat down in the chair in the corner of the room relief experiencing this warmth and relief that three hours had gone by. I knew from that moment that throughout the past years (as I had expected from “moments”) that we were never alone and that there was a force working on our behalf.

    Yet it was THIS moment, correction these hours that validated my faith in God and the blessings He bestowed upon us.

    Walk by faith and you’ll never walk alone.

    Like

    • I love this testimony! Sometimes faith is all we have to carry us through. You really have been through grief upon grief, and still you are strong enough to stand and give testimony of how God was always with you, and brought you and the rest of your family through it all. Amen!

      Like

  2. Savurbks says:

    Excellent post and just what I needed to read today…God definitely had it as part of His plan! Thanks for sharing! (Love the page design, too!)

    Like

    • I am so glad to know that this post encouraged you! Each week I depend on the Holy Spirit to lead me in writing my blog post. I never know until I start writing what I will say. I am so glad He spoke to you this day! God is blessing us both.

      Like

  3. Mary Lou says:

    I’m looking forward to reading more about your journey in Faith. 🙂
    https://meinthemiddlewrites.com/2016/05/12/an-invitation/

    Like

Share your comments

