faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Bloggiesta Newbie

on March 21, 2016

Hi to the Spring Bloggiesta participants!

I have never done this before, but it sounds like fun and useful too.

My goals for my blog are to —

  1. get more organized with my book lists
  2. get more readers by joining more linkups
  3. get some feedback on how I can make my posts more interesting to readers

I have found a simple 1 page printable for organizing my books called “Book Review Tracker“.  Now I just need to start using it! HaHa

I have also started a list of linkups by day.  Again, I need to organize this list on my computer, so it is easier and more automatic.  Ideas?  What do you use to help you easily access linkups?  

What are your favorite book linkups?

I have never gotten feedback on my blog, so I am welcome to useful comments and suggestions.  I will consider every one, and choose what I think will work for me.  Pick 1 or more topics to respond to in the comments below or to my twitter account @JanetK_FL

Thank you!–

I would like feedback on readability, first impression, what turns you off reading it, and/or what strikes you right away about it?

Bloggiesta-ButtonM21                          Bloggiesta i-need-help  #bloggiesta

16 responses to “Bloggiesta Newbie

  1. jennielyse says:

    Welcome to Bloggiesta! It’s a lot of fun. I hope you get some great feedback and you have fun accomplishing your goals.

    I used to have this theme. 🙂 I loved it.

    Like

  2. Hi Janet! So nice to meet you! Thanks for joining in Bloggiesta and this mini challenge. I come with my monster list of bookish links, which includes a LOT of link-ups or memes by day – plenty to choose from! Here’s the list: http://guiltlessreading.blogspot.ca/2015/08/the-soon-to-be-monster-list-of-all.html

    In case it overwhelms you (!! I know it overwhelms me !!), I enjoy #Friday56 combined with #BookBeginnings which involves getting snippets from one of your books. You can check out my posts here: http://guiltlessreading.blogspot.ca/search/label/book%20beginnings

    I also have my own link-up which features bookmarks every monday #BookmarkMonday: http://guiltlessreading.blogspot.ca/search/label/bookmark%20monday

    Happy Bloggiesta, and good luck with your goals 🙂

    Like

  3. gorelenore says:

    Welcome to Bloggiesta! I hope you enjoy it! Good luck with your goals.

    Like

  4. Good luck with your goals. Care to share that list of link-ups? It could prove helpful to a number of us.

    Like

  5. bftreviews says:

    Hey there and welcome to Bloggiesta!!

    I personally recommend reading my mini challenge for this weeks Bloggiesta here 😉 and also keep an eye out on my blog because I’m staring a feature soon about blog design and organization! Exciting right?

    Ok enough self promoting now. Hehe. For organizing my books I use lots of different things. Obviously, goodreads is amazing but I also looooove to make Google spreadsheets for any sort of lists I need. I’ve got one that keeps track of series I’m reading, books I’ve read each year, books I’ve bought, books that count toward my book challenges, you name it! It’s easily my favourite way to stay organized.

    For memes I participate in TTT and Book Travelling Thursday. I highly recommend both of them.

    Hopefully I helped!

    Like

    • Wow! Thanks for all the useful information! Your feature on blog design and organization sounds good,too. I am on Goodreads, but I’m not really using it for organization. I have found it confusing so far. I did link my Goodreads list with my blog, so people can see some of the books I have liked most, but I rarely go to Goodreads. I guess I should give it another look. What is your fav part of Goodreads?

      Like

      • bftreviews says:

        It’s just great for tracking what books I’ve read and want to read. You can also make your own shelves and categorize books into those as well as your read and to read shelves. Be warned though: once you get hooked you’re shelves will be huge! It’s just nice scrolling through my feed and then adding a book to my tbr after reading a good review. It’s awesome 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. createwithjoy says:

    Dear Janet,

    I am so glad that you joined Bloggiesta after reading my post – I hope you are having a blast connecting with everyone and gaining a wealth of information from the experience! 🙂

    I love your blog but wanted to make two recommendations for you (these are based on my personal blog reading habits). First, when I find a blog I like, I really love to connect with that blogger – so I always look for their social media icons. I noticed from your post that you are on Twitter but I didn’t see a Twitter icon on your sidebar – and I noticed you are on Goodreads but the widget you are displaying doesn’t lend itself to people following you. To grow your blog, it’s really important to display your social connections so that people can easily follow you! (If you are on any other social media channels, be sure to include those as well!)

    The other thing I noticed is that you’ve been blogging for a long time, but your category list gets buried on your sidebar. If your current WP theme allows you to display your categories across the top of your blog, so that they are readily seen by visitors to your blog, perhaps you could try that out and see how you like it. That would encourage visitors to explore your blog and would also help readers to connect with you on various topics of interest!

    I hope these suggestions help.

    For your link-up list, I host the Book Nook – our month-long community for book lovers – as well as the week-long Inspire Me Monday (with creative features), Wordless Wednesday (with feline features), and Friendship Friday (with blogger features)! 🙂

    Have an amazing week – hope to catch you at one of the Bloggiesta chats! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for the suggestions Joy! I will definitely look into making those changes!
      I am enjoying this Bloggiesta, and I hope to get on the chat tomorrow night. Thank you too for all the encouragement you have given me.

      Like

  7. Looks like you’re getting some great advice here, Janet! Please don’t forget to enter the giveaway!

    Like

Share your comments

