faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Psalm 107

on March 18, 2016

This is a Book Review of Steadfast Love by Lauren Chandler, and a discussion on Psalm 107.

Before you read this book, I recommend that you read Psalm 107. This book is about Psalm 107, but I read the book first, and I missed the point of the Psalm. (You can read Psalm 107 here at Bible Gateway or in your own Bible.)

Book SteadfastLove_                                        bg-blogger-badge-500x500-e1387301563797

When I did read Psalm 107, I saw this pattern over and over –

“Then they cried out to the Lord in their trouble, and He delivered them from their distress…”  “Let them give thanks to the Lord for His unfailing love… “

The introduction to the book summarizes Psalm 107, and the rest of the book breaks it up into five parts, but reading it all at one time in my Bible, showed me the pattern, the rhythm, like a song with a repeating chorus – “Then they cried out to the Lord in their trouble, and He saved them from their distress…  Let them give thanks to the Lord for His unfailing love…”

In the book, the Psalm uses the words “Let the redeemed of the Lord say so,”, but in my TNIV version Bible, it says “let the redeemed of the Lord tell their story”.  The book tells those stories.  I was expecting personal stories from the author relating to Psalm 107.  I didn’t get that.  In the last couple chapters, I finally got to know the author’s story and reason for writing this book (her husband Matt’s brain cancer).  In the whole middle of the book, I searched for a point, but was lost in a sea of bits of Bible verses tossed around.  I know some people have really liked this book, but I did not enjoy it, although it was helpful in some ways.

The cover of the book shows an anchor.  The anchor of the Psalm is the chorus.  I did not find an anchor in this book.  From reading Psalm 107, I can see that God is our anchor.  That we will have trouble in this life, and probably many troubles, but God is our anchor, if we call out to Him for help.  Through it all, God saves us, and we give Him thanks.  The pattern repeats for every believer throughout their life. 

I do agree with the author on one thing.  In the Foreword written by Ann Voskamp, Ann spoke with the author, who told her that when trouble hits, read Psalm 107.  Good advice!  I will remember that.  So I give thanks to Lauren Chandler for writing this book, and showing me where to find my anchor when trouble hits again, and I know it will. 

I will remember to read Psalm 107 for hope and encouragement during times of trouble.

(I received a free copy of the book “Steadfast Love” from the publisher.  This review is my honest opinion.)

BHBloggers LogoCrop2

 

Share your comments

