faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Got Strength ?

on March 6, 2016

There certainly are days that I feel like I have no strength left.  That happened when I was thinking I had to find all my strength from my own inner reserves.  I thought I could eat healthy, get enough sleep, exercise, and be determined enough to build enough strength on my own.  But at the end of each day, I was exhausted.  So where do I get the strength I need?

I’m not talking about weight lifting.  I’m talking about the strength we all need to get through each day, to deal with all the problems, to go to work every day, to stay healthy, to take care of our family and our home and do all the chores, and still have energy for spending time with our spouse, and playing with the kids, attending church each week, and helping others in need.  Yeah that all takes inner strength!  More than I have on my own.

So where do we get the strength we need if we can’t build up our own strength?

The Bible says “the joy of the Lord is your strength”.  So that means we need to find joy, to get strength.  So how do I find this joy that is our strength?

In Nehemiah 8:10, Nehemiah said, “Go and enjoy choice food and sweet drinks, and send some to those who have nothing prepared. This day is holy to our Lord. Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.” Further in 8:12 Scripture says, then all the people went away to eat and drink, to send portions of food and to celebrate with great joybecause they now understood the words that had been made known to them (in Scripture).

So what Scripture says, is that the strength that we need for each day comes from joy in the Lord.  We find the joy of the Lord in the words of Scripture, when we learn what the Scripture says.

So this is where all those sermons I have heard, and all that Bible studying I’ve done will come in handy!

Alone, we all are really quite weak.  We crumble when faced with another new problem.  We get crabby if our day doesn’t go smoothly.  God is ready to help us face our daily challenges with His strength, not our own. 

When we learn from Scripture that the Lord’s salvation is a gift, waiting for us to accept it, and that His grace and His love are gifts to each one of us, then we have the Lord’s joy in our heart.   If we have a grateful heart for these gifts from the Lord, then our joy in the Lord is endless!  His joy is forever.  His joy is available no matter what problems come.  Why? 

Because Jesus is available to us every day, no matter what happens.  The gifts from the Lord are available to us no matter what mistakes we make.  Jesus always loves us.   He offers His gifts of love and grace and Salvation to all of us every day.  This is such good news, and it certainly makes me feel joy in knowing the Lord as my Savior!

Psalm 95:1-2 says

Come, let us sing for joy to the Lord;
let us shout aloud to the Rock of our salvation.
 Let us come before him with thanksgiving
    and praise him with music and song.

The Lord’s joy lives in our grateful heart!  When we have gratefulness for Jesus, we have found His joy, and His strength! 

Now I have enough strength for every day.  I pray each day, and give thanks to God for all the blessings in my life.  I have joy in the Lord, and I have all the strength I will ever need to handle any problem.

I hope you have found your strength in the joy of the Lord!  If not, look for things to be grateful for, and  read again from some of the Scriptures I mentioned.  You can learn a lot about joy and the gifts Jesus offers us, by going to www.BibleGateway.org

bg-blogger-badge-500x500-e1387301563797

 

2 responses to “Got Strength ?

  1. Savurbks says:

    Just what our sermon was based upon this past weekend…thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. I hope it was a good sermon! We don’t often think of joy giving us strength, but the Bible says it is so. Thanks for reading and commenting! I appreciate it.

    Like

Share your comments

