faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Book Review of “He Speaks in the Silence”

on February 19, 2016

This is my book review of “He Speaks in the Silence” by Diane Comer.

I treasured reading this book! 

I was pulled in to Diane’s story.  I felt I was listening to her talking to me, telling me her story, revealing her fears, her struggles, and sharing what she learned in the growing silence of deafness.

The author, Diane Comer, had a goal of hearing God and listening to Him, as do I.  I was very interested to learn how she does it, to see if we listen similarly.  For her she heard God speak in the silence, because she was going deaf.  For me, I sought quiet, away from the noisy distractions of life.

In the book, she talks about becoming a Christian, and about her home life, married to a minister, and raising three kids.  She also talks about her experiences going deaf, and the difficulties of being a minister’s wife and mother with severe hearing problems.

Just as I did when faced with a severe illness, she also turned to daily prayer.  It was this daily prayer time that brought her to “hear” God speak.  Daily prayer also helped me to listen to God.

She started to ask, “why”.  Why hasn’t God healed me?  That was the wrong question.

She tried to be extra good, to deserve God’s healing, but that is not what God wants.  And no one can really deserve God’s healing grace.

Instead, she was led to a Scripture that she had ignored before.  When I had cancer, I too found this same Scripture, and she and I both chose to obey it.

James 5:13-15 Is anyone among you in trouble? Let them pray. Is anyone happy? Let them sing songs of praise.  Is anyone among you sick? Let them call the elders of the church to pray over them and anoint them with oil in the name of the Lord.   And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise them up. If they have sinned, they will be forgiven.”

Seeking out the elders made all the difference for her, just as I found it did for me.  While the elders were praying over her, she heard God’s voice telling her it was okay.  Her fears were gone.

She continues to hear God speaking to her, and she shares some of these words in the book.  That alone makes this book worth reading. 

Diane’s story is inspirational, spiritually educational, and leads us to another of her lessons in life, surrender to God.  That is something we all need to learn to do, but it is difficult.  This book can help.

If you would like to buy this book, go to the Amazon link here.

For more study of the Scripture, go to this link to Bible Gateway, James 5:13-15.

I did receive a free copy of this book, through NetGalley.com, in order to write a book review. The opinions written here are genuine and entirely my own!

Share your comments

