faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Your Reach

on January 24, 2016

How far is your reach?

Do you reach just your family? Do you reach your co-workers?  Neighbors?  People on Twitter? Facebook? Parents in the PTA? 

What can you do with your reach?  You can influence people.  You can be an example.  You can share information.  You can pray for them.  You can become friends.

You can tell people about Jesus.  You can share inspirational Scriptures.  You can express your faith and what you believe.

If your reach is too small, then work at expanding it! 

Have you heard of the Prayer of Jabez? It is from 1 Chronicles 4:10
Jabez cried out to the God of Israel, “Oh, that you would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.” And God granted his request.

If you want to find out more about this Scripture, click on the link above to “1 Chronicles 4:10” which will take you to http://www.BibleGateway.com  I am on their blogger list, which I joined just this month!

bg-blogger-badge-500x500-e1387301563797

One of the ways I have expanded my reach is through this blog.  I talk about God here.  I talk about living as a Christian.  On “Faith Counts” I talk about “becoming a better Christian one step at a time”!

I have added book reviews of Christian books others may want to read.  (To see my book reviews, you can choose “Book Reviews” in the Category list in the right hand side of this blog, or do a search by typing in Book Review.)

I have been working at expanding the reach of my blog through social media — Twitter and Facebook, and I plan to add Google+ and Pinterest.

I also expand my blog reach through other blogs by commenting on posts and by using link-ups.  (Link-ups are hosted by other blogs with large reaches who host a link-up on their blog on certain days so you can attract the interest of people who haven’t seen your blog before. In turn this brings new people to their blog.)

This weekend I have tried something new to me — a Blogathon!

This is a 3-day event that brings all kinds of bloggers together to share tips, generate more interest in their blogs, and gain some Twitter followers, Facebook likes, Instagram followers and more.

This Blogathon sponsored 6 Twitter parties, and Sunday are the final two, which you can join in with if you want to see what I am talking about.  Sunday, January 24 at 2pm and 9pm EST are Twitter parties.  You can join in by following the hashtag #blogathon2.  (If there is only yesterday’s stuff there, try #blogathon3.)  This is my first time at a blogathon, so I’m not sure of all the specifics, but below is a link for you to get more information if you want to do more than join the Twitter party.  You can sign up for the final day if you want.

BlogathonBlogathon

Even if you don’t have a blog yet, look around and you may decide you want to start a blog.  It’s not that hard.  WordPress makes it super easy, and you can start with a free blog if you want.  Just go to http://www.wordpress.com  That’s how I started my blog about 4 years ago.

It can be scary to expand your reach.  It will take you out of your comfort zone, but we are meant to have a larger reach than just our friends and family.

In Joshua 1:9 Scripture says, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

Have fun expanding your reach!

Use the comments below to share where you plan to expand your reach…

2 responses to “Your Reach

  1. gzylinski says:

    So grateful for all the helpful info on expanding my reach via my blog. Your title and content is what keeps me coming back. Blessings!

    Like

Share your comments

