faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Forget About It

on January 10, 2016

We are all into the new year now.  We are trying to make changes we hope will make our life better.

Some of us may be finding it difficult to let go of the last year, and move forward into the new year.  The best advice I can give is to “Forget about it”.  Forget 2015.  It is over.  Now you have a new year, with new opportunities, new blessings from God, and new hope.  Step up into the new year.

“Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope:

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.

They are new every morning;

great is God’s faithfulness.” (Lamentations 3:21-23)

Lamentations was written by the prophet Jeremiah after the city of Jerusalem was burned to the ground.  Despite this, they had hope for a new day!  They trusted God’s faithfulness and His compassion.

For my new year, I have been working on “re-focusing”.  I am determining what my focus will be.  Do I want to continue blogging?  The answer is “Yes”! 

I write this blog, because I enjoy writing, and I want to share what I have learned as I work at becoming a better Christian. I don’t do this for money.  I do this to encourage Christians.   I do this to stay in God’s Word, and encourage others to think about the Bible and what it says. I do this to challenge myself to become a better Christian, and to challenge you to do the same.  I enjoy reading new books, so I can write book reviews on some really good Christian books, to encourage you to read some of them.  By the way, if you read one of the books I review, I would love to get your feedback on the book in the comments below, or to my email FaithCountsBlog@aol.com

I expect that 2016 will be a year of turmoil for the world.  But because I am a Christian, I expect 2016 to be a year of new beginnings, renewed faith, re-focused priorities, with God at the top of my list.  I expect to become a better Christian by the end of this year.  Hopefully we all become better Christians every year.  New and better each new year. 

May we all have hope that we will have a better year this year, because of our faith in God, who has compassion, new every morning.  So choose to forget last year, and to commit to a new year with renewed faith to become a better Christian.

God is blessing you today!

I am sharing this post at Holley Gerth’s place.

Holley-Gerth-Button-250x250

 

 

 

 

4 responses to “Forget About It

  1. I’m so glad you write about what you love!

    Like

  2. Love this… I wrote a very similar post today, talking about Isa 43 and letting go of the old and grabbing hold of the new!

    Like

    • Well I guess the Holy Spirit was talking to both of us! It is time to move ahead… Today I was at the chiropractor and filled out update forms for the new year. Don’t you know I put 2015 in 3 places, and had to change them all to 2016?! I guess I haven’t moved forward yet. Thanks for stopping by, Karrilee!

      Like

Share your comments

