faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Let Christmas Linger

on December 27, 2015

It seems that the day after Christmas, once the presents are all opened, we are supposed to just forget about Christmas.

No one plays Christmas songs on the day after Christmas.

No one goes to church on the day after Christmas.

No one says “Merry Christmas” on the day after Christmas.

I know it might seem silly to do some of those things after Christmas, but I don’t want to let Christmas go yet!

I want to let Christmas linger a bit longer…

Christmas doordecorated

I still want to listen to Christmas songs a few more days.

I still want to leave on the Christmas lights.

I want to leave the Christmas cards on display, and even read a few of them again.

I want to leave the nativity scene up awhile yet, and touch the baby Jesus in the manger.

At Christmas I feel closer to Jesus than any other time of the year.

Jesus came close to us, by coming down from Heaven, and putting on flesh, to be born a baby.

We hug babies.  We rock babies.  We sing to them.    We feed them. 

We like to smell their clean freshness.

I want to savor those close feelings, by letting Christmas linger a bit longer.

So today, I am going to play some Christmas carols.  (I’m sharing a few of my favorites below.)

Today I’m going to spend time talking to Jesus in prayer.  I’m going to think about baby Jesus.  I’m going to think about how quiet his birth was, yet how bright.  I’m going to think about how personal and private His birth was, and yet how many people celebrate His birth now.  I’m going to think about how fragile a baby is, and yet He had the power to save us all. 

Yes, I am going to let Christmas linger, maybe until New Year’s Day!

Some people don’t have to go back to work or school the week after Christmas.  Maybe the whole week after Christmas we should all get the time off, to let Christmas linger.  Just a bit longer, please.  Don’t make me forget yet.  It’s too soon.

So here are a few Christmas songs to help you continue to savor Christmas a bit longer.  I hope you enjoy them.

Mary Did You Know?

Go Tell It On the Mountain

Do You Hear What I Hear?

In the comments section below, you can tell us how you make Christmas linger a bit longer.

 

 

 

 

One response to “Let Christmas Linger

Share your comments

