faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Book Review of It’s Not What You Think

on November 27, 2015

This is my book review of, It’s Not What You Think by Jefferson Bethke.

NotWhatYouThink

I read his last book “Jesus > Religion”, and loved it, so I was eager to read this next book.

Jefferson tackles what most people think about Christianity, and looks to the deeper meanings.  There were times that tears came to my eyes, while reading this book.  The truth I was reading hit me deep in my heart.  The author says that Christianity is so much more than going to heaven when we die.  If you want to know about the “so much more”, you should read this book.

Jesus challenged the people of Jerusalem and neighboring towns, to look deeper into their religion.  Remember when He challenged people to love their enemies?  In Mathew 5:43-45, Jesus says, “You have heard that it was said, You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.  But I say to you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,  so that you may be sons of your Father who is in heaven…”

Jefferson challenges us to do similar things today.  Christians need to love God so much more than we are now.  Christians need to be more grateful, more loving.

He has a chapter on being a neighbor, on how to worship, on the Sabbath day, and on God’s Kingdom here on Earth.  He looks at wounds and scars, and points out that even after Jesus arose from the grave, He had scars from His life here on Earth. We know because Jesus showed them to Thomas. 

The author also looks at the importance of sitting at a table with people and eating a meal.  He points out that Jesus chose to have a last meal with His disciples.  I grew up eating dinner around the table with my family, and I raised my kids that way, too.  We had dinner together almost every night. Today, few families still do this.  Meals are often rushed, picked up to go, or eaten in front of the television.  Jefferson says we need to realize how important eating a meal together is.

I can see that although I have been growing as a Christian for several decades, I still have more to learn and more to do.  I am thinking I need to have people over for a meal more often.  I am thinking I need to worship God every day, not just on Sunday.  After reading this book, I am thinking more about it, which is a sign of a good book.  I won’t forget this book.  In fact, I am going to read it a second time and make notes about changes I want to make in the way I live my life, and in my spiritual practices.  This book challenges my thinking about being a Christian, and it touched my heart with truths about Jesus. 

My blog is about becoming a better Christian one step at a time.  This book took me several steps down that road.  I am thankful for the opportunity to read it.

To read a portion of it, or to buy it, go to Amazon.

(I was given a free copy of this book from the publisher Thomas Nelson, through http://www.BookLookBloggers.com in order to review it.  The opinions are mine alone, and are truthful.)

 

Share your comments

