faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Book Review “Unwrapping The Greatest Gift”

on November 20, 2015

This is my book review of “Unwrapping the Greatest Gift” by Ann Voskamp.
This is a beautiful full-color book covering Advent, the 25 days leading up to Christmas.
I learned about Advent from Ann’s earlier book “The Greatest Gift”, which is the adult version for Advent. I enjoyed that book, and downloaded the free paper ornaments available with purchase of the book. I sent some of them to grandchildren to color for Christmas. I thoroughly enjoyed reading that book.

I decided to buy this newer book, because it is so beautifully illustrated in full color.

AnnV Unwrapping

I decided to review this book, because of the quality of it. It is rare to find full color books anymore.
It is written so it can be read to children, but I enjoyed reading it myself.
I also can certainly read any part of it to grandchildren when they visit at Christmas. It helps give more meaning to the holiday.
Each day of December has a color picture, that also has an ornament for that picture. (The ornaments can be downloaded and printed free, or they are available for purchase.) There is a Scripture to be read for each day.

Day 1 is from Isaiah 11. “Out of the stump of David’s family will grow a shoot – yes, a new Branch bearing fruit from the old root. And the Spirit of the Lord will rest on him…”

Each day also has questions to discuss and suggested family activities. For day 1, it is suggested to plant grass seed and water it grow through Advent.
I plan to use this book for my Advent this year.
I did not grow up doing Advent, but it is so helpful in preparation for Christmas.

Advent starts December 1, so you still have time to buy the book.
“Unwrapping the Greatest Gift” is available at Lifeway.
“The Greatest Gift” is also available at Lifeway.

The ornaments can be purchased at Dayspring.

You can follow the author Ann Voskamp at http://www.aholyexperience.com

2 responses to “Book Review “Unwrapping The Greatest Gift”

  1. […] Book Review “Unwrapping The Greatest Gift” Nov […]

    Like

  2. […] Ann Voskamp – My favorite book of Ann’s, is the one I am reading now.  It is her full-color book Unwrapping the Greatest Gift, which prepares our hearts for Christmas.  It can be used as part of Advent leading up to Christmas, or you can read it any time of the year.  It is especially good when read out loud to children, because of the beautiful illustrations.  I am loving just reading it myself, and love all the beautiful colors, a real visual treat, as well as a good reminder of who Jesus is.  This book is a keepsake!  Take a look at it, or read my book review.   […]

    Like

Share your comments

