faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Fall Back

on November 1, 2015

What did you do with your 1 extra hour this weekend?

I started to think ahead of time,

what would be a good way to spend an extra hour Saturday night?

If I came up with a good idea, I could share it on my blog.

Maybe read a good book?  I have several I have started reading.

Clean the guest bathroom?   We have company coming next week.

Write a great blog post?  People might be awake looking for something to read.

Listen to some of my favorite music?  I haven’t played my Francesca Battistelli CD in a while.

Go for a walk?  I don’t walk enough.

(Of course, I wouldn’t do any of these things at 2am.  I would do them Saturday night, after changing the clocks back one hour, but before I go to bed.)

So what did I do?  None of these.

As I was trying to change the time on my alarm clock,

my husband said I didn’t need to do that, because it would change automatically at 2am.

Glad to know this, because I could not figure out how to change the time on my clock!

(Did you know that some clocks can only have the time changed when the year, month & date are updated first?  Crazy!  Who needs to change the year on their clock? Somehow I changed the year on my clock to 2027!)

So, just like every year, my husband and I went to sleep.  Yep.

I didn’t want to stay up until 2am to watch the clock change,

giving me my 1 precious extra hour.

Tiredness took over my decision,

making sleep the best choice.

I got into bed and after talking with my husband a short while, we promptly fell asleep.

After all, most of us don’t get enough sleep.

Maybe that really is the best way to spend our 1 extra hour each fall.

Or maybe you found a better way!

Would you share with us in comments, how you spent your extra hour this weekend?

We would love to know what you did.

(Please don’t tell me you ate all your kid’s Halloween candy!)

Also, just for kicks, how long did it take you to change all your clocks?

For us it was about 15 minutes. 

Some clocks we had to get out the owners’ manual to change the time.

(The next time we buy a clock, we really need to get one with a simple dial.

Simple really is better.)

So this morning, I do feel more rested and awake.

This makes me glad I opted for an extra hour of sleep.

So, how did you spend your extra hour?

6 responses to “Fall Back

  1. cdouce515 says:

    I attempted to sleep. But my four month old made that tough. 😄
    One year the family we stayed the night with (we were traveling at the time) both the husband and wife set the clocks. Everyone was so confused as to what the actual time was. We think of it every year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it can be confusing. When my husband said the clocks would change automatically, I said, but how will we know for sure? I remember one year they did not change. Now we have a couple clocks that change, but most do not, so that causes confusion too. If only I was confused just twice/year, but my confusion continues.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am another person who spent the extra time sleeping! I didn’t really have to change any clocks… my computer and phone changed automatically, and I live with my aunt and uncle so they changed the clocks in the rest of the house… although I just noticed the microwave clock is still in Spring Forward Time!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Riki says:

    I let the kids stay up later on Halloween and we watched a movie as a family. We all got plenty of sleep before church and still haven’t yet all the way adapted to the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great idea Riki! Kids love being allowed to stay up late. Watching a movie with the whole family is so good for bonding with kids. It’s amazing some of the comments they make that we adults would miss.

      Like

Share your comments

