faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Book Review Walking With God

on August 16, 2015

I have plenty of books to read.

I get free ones from publishers to review.

I check out books from the library.

I download free books to my Kindle.

Last weekend, I was at church, and I had some time to wait for my husband.

 I decided to wait in the church library,

although I really didn’t need a book to read.

People donate books to the church library,

and anyone can borrow one and return it when they are done reading it,

or they can keep it and donate another book.

I browsed the shelves and found a gem –

“Walking with God” by John Eldredge.

Cover WalkingWithGod

I was familiar with this author,

so his name in a red banner across the top of the book got my attention.

The title made me bring the book home –

Walking with God.

I am not quite finished reading it,

but I just had to tell you about it!

This book is not new, but the subject is timeless.

It is about returning to the relationship that Adam and Eve originally had with God.

They walked with Him, and talked with Him, in the Garden.

We were meant to have this relationship with God.

Wouldn’t you like to walk and talk with God?

Sin has put distance between us and God.

We try to hide our faults from God and from other people.

We might be able to fool some people,

but God knows where we are, and who we are, and

He loves us anyway.

This book is the real deal.

It really tells you how to walk and talk with God.

As soon as I started to read the book,

I whooped with joy!

I grabbed it and started to pray.

The author says that there is no single one solution to life’s problems,

except for Jesus.

Isn’t one solution better than all those To Do lists and New Year resolutions?

I have so many lists I can’t find them anymore.

I do know Jesus.  I can always find Him.

I pray to Him now, but I am still learning to walk with Him.

Another important point the author tells us,

is that when we walk with God, we need to follow Jesus,

and let Him lead.

We can’t run ahead of Him, looking back to see if He is following.

We must let Him lead, and we follow Him.

This makes more sense if you picture yourself as one of His sheep.

Sheep can get into trouble if they wander ahead of the shepherd.

Evil is lurking, waiting to grab a sheep wandering by itself.

The safest place for sheep, is next to the shepherd.

I am using this truth from the book,

to encourage me to pray each morning before breakfast.

If I am going to follow Jesus,

 it makes sense to start the conversation with Him first thing in the morning,

 at the start of my day in prayer.

Another issue the author points out is that talking to God

is supposed to be a two-way conversation.

This means not only do we pray,

but we listen for God’s voice.

We anticipate His answer to our prayers.

The author explains how to listen to God.

He gives examples from his own life about how he talks with God.

Maybe you can tell by now,

that this book is worth reading.

You might even find it at the library.

If not, you can get it at the author’s website, Ransomed Heart.

or it is also available at Amazon.

I hope you enjoy reading the book,

and end up walking and talking with God.

See you there!

3 responses to “Book Review Walking With God

  1. allycarter1 says:

    I think you have the same problem with books as me. And I’ve just discovered a place called books for free, where you can pick out up to 10 free books! John elderidge is a great author, I’ve read captivating and love and war, but will have to look into getting this one as well 😄

    Like

    • Yeah books are always falling into my lap, because I love them so much! I also love to share them with other people, hoping they will enjoy them as much as I did. I think you would really like “Walking With God”. It’s not light reading though. Definitely not a summer beach read. If you do read it, let me know what you liked most about it. Maybe you can blog about it.

      Liked by 1 person

Share your comments

