faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Can’t Sleep?

on March 22, 2015

Can’t Sleep?

Do you ever find yourself awake in the middle of the night?

Your mind keeps going, and you can’t get any rest?

That happened to me last night,

and here is what works for me –

When I am awake and I need to sleep,

I ask God, “Who should I pray for?”

The first name that pops into my head,

I pray for that person.

I may not know what prayers they need,

but God does.

So last night a missionary family that I met at church came to mind.

I prayed for them.

I prayed that Jesus would protect them,

and clear their way as they travel to their new missionary home.

Before I knew it, I fell asleep, and I awoke in the morning,

remembering that I had prayed for that family.

I have no doubt that they needed those prayers,

and I have no doubt, that God heard my prayers.

I believe this works in two ways:

1 – I wake up and am worried about things,

things that happened that day,

or things that might happen tomorrow.  I can’t sleep. 

By focusing my attention on someone else, I forget whatever I was worried about.

It has been proven that praying relaxes people, similar to meditation.

The people get prayers, and I get some sleep.

This is a win-win situation.

God is blessing both of us.

2 – The second way this works, is when God wakes me up during the night,

because someone needs prayers.

If I realize I am wasting my time just lying there awake, and ask God who to pray for,

then that person gets their much needed prayers,

and once I am done praying, I fall asleep again.

This has worked very well for me.

I trust that God uses these prayers to help people who need it.

I pray for basic things we all need,

like healing, protection, peace, and whatever else I think of.

One time, the person I prayed for during the night,

posted on her blog, that she had been struggling with an issue that night,

and by morning she had peace about what she needed to do.

This gave me encouragement to continue using prayer when I can’t sleep.

My advice is — The next time you are awake,

                        and you want to get to sleep,

                        Try asking God, “Who should I pray for?”

                        Then no matter what person comes to mind,

                        pray for them, and God will bless you both.

If you want to share a story about how you helped someone,

by praying for them during the night, please add a comment below.

We would love to read your story.

Also, if you have a prayer need, please share it in the comments,

and I will pray for you.

4 responses to “Can’t Sleep?

  1. Melissa says:

    Too funny this happened to me last night! God woke me up at 2:30 am and I prayed in and out until 5:30. What a timely word!

    Like

  2. allycarter1 says:

    Hi I totally agree with this. There have been times when God has woken me up to read the bible and has given me clarity in a situation which really needed it. God bless!

    Like

Share your comments

