faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Do We Really Do What Jesus Would Do?

on February 15, 2015

Remember the WWJD bracelets?  I have seen WWJD on t-shirts, tote bags, hats, and more.

It was supposed to be a coded reminder to make decisions based on “What Would Jesus Do”.

I saw a WWJD tote bag recently, and it started me thinking.

We call ourselves followers of Jesus – Christians.

Do we really follow Him?

The more I thought about it,

the more I realized that for me, the answer is “no”.

Jesus was homeless.  I own my home.

Jesus walked everywhere (except for some boat trips), and sometimes for very long distances.

I have a car.

Jesus depended on the kindness of friends and strangers, for food and a place to sleep.

I go to the grocery store and bring it home, where I eat and sleep.

How did Jesus spend his days?

He walked from town to town,

talking to strangers he met along the way,

 to teach them about God,

preaching to whoever gathered to hear him,

healing people who asked to be healed,

bringing people who died  back to life,

praying to his Father in Heaven,

arguing with the religious elite, and

a couple times he fed thousands of people.

So, no, I don’t live like that.

I pray to God, but I don’t do anything else on this list.

So maybe to be like Jesus, we really do need to sell all we own.

I’m not ready to do that.  How about you?

So, how can we be Christians, and follow Jesus then?

We can use something our parents taught us growing up –

Do what we say, not what we do —

You know, things like, “Be quiet, don’t yell”,

“Go outside it’s too nice to be inside”,

“Never lie”, “Don’t hit your brother”.

If we read what Jesus said, what he taught his disciples and all the people he met,

and try to obey his teaching, then we would be Christians following him.

Jesus said things like,

 “But I tell you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.” (Matthew 6:44)

That is still really hard to do,

but I like that idea better than selling all I own and being homeless.

So I propose that we need a new acronym – WDJS,

What Did Jesus Say?

Do what He said, not what he did,

because we are not sinless,

we are not a miraculous healer,

we are not a savior,

but Jesus is !

One response to “Do We Really Do What Jesus Would Do?

  1. […] Source: Do We Really Do What Jesus Would Do? […]

    Like

Share your comments

