faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Book Review of “Fierce Convictions”

on December 14, 2014

This is a book review of the new book “Fierce Convictions” by Karen Swallow Prior. 

It is a biography of the life of Hannah More, a writer,

who lived in the late 1700s and early 1800s,

dying in 1832, a few weeks after England ended slavery.

I chose this book to review because of the many people who commented on the book on the back cover and inside

(such as Ann Voskamp, and Christine Caine), as well as

a glowing recommendation from Eric Metaxas, who wrote the book, “Amazing Grace”, which I loved.

Although Eric Metaxas says that Hannah More did as much as William Wilberforce did

for the abolitionist movement (ending the slave trade),

I did not find this in the book “Fierce Convictions”.

Unfortunately, I was disappointed in the book.

Although, this is a well-researched and well-written biography of the life of Hannah More,

there is a lack of substance concerning the abolitionist movement,

and very little excitement to her story. 

Hannah More seems to have led a rather quiet life,

whose highlight is writing letters to somewhat important people of the day,

publishing books and treatises anonymously,

and starting a school for poor children, along with her sister.

She seems to me, to have only been an onlooker

around the fringes of the abolitionist movement.

The best part of the book is in chapters 1 on Hannah More’s life as a child,

and then 8, 9, and 10, which discuss the people

actually involved in the abolitionist movement,

Hannah More’s writings, and the school she started.

Based on this book, I would say that Hannah More’s greatest accomplishment

was starting a school for the poor, who would otherwise not have had any education. 

This is a wonderful thing to have done,

and I wish there had been more about this in the book. 

The rest of the book is filled with details that I found to be mostly uninteresting.

Since so many people did make positive comments on the book,

I may be in the minority to be critical of it, but I am giving my own honest review. 

I had difficulty finishing the book. 

If I had not promised to read it all, and do a review of it,

I would have left it unfinished. 

I did receive a free copy of the book “Fierce Convictions”, from the publisher,

through BookLookBloggers.com, in order to write a review.  These opinions of the book are my own.

 

2 responses to “Book Review of “Fierce Convictions”

  1. […] Book Review of “Fierce Convictions” […]

    Like

Share your comments

