faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Keep Your Eye on the Ball

on August 17, 2014

Keep your eye on the ball.
This is good advice if you are playing baseball.
It is important advice, because if you take your eye off the ball,
you may get hit in the head with it! Ouch!

Now I never played baseball.
I was a tennis player.
If I took my eye off the ball,

it didn’t hit me in the head,
but it did whizz by me,
making me look stupid. Dork!

There is also the advice to “Keep your eye on the prize.”
This makes it much easier to get the prize,
whatever that prize is for you.
It could be a college degree,
or a promotion,
or a move to Hollywood, or Paris, or New York,
along with the plumb job in acting or fashion.

But the advice I have today for us,
(I needed this today, and I am sharing it with you.)
is “Keep your eyes on Jesus.”
When I take my eyes off Jesus,
I end up all upset over things that don’t really matter.
I get depressed, or angry, and crabby. I hate this!

There is a hymn that says,

” O soul, are you weary and troubled?
No light in the darkness you see?
There’s light for a look at the Savior,
And life more abundant and free.
Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face
,
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His glory and grace. ”
(from “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus”)

If ever there was a prize worth getting,
it is Jesus!

Never take your eyes off Him.
He knows what you really need,
and God provides.
You will find more love, joy,
peace, patience, kindness,
and forgiveness when Jesus is the prize
you keep your eyes on.

2 responses to “Keep Your Eye on the Ball

  1. karrileea says:

    Amen! I am visiting from Holley’s today, where we are neighbor’s! So thankful to be sharing a cup of ‘Coffee’ with you today!

    Like

Share your comments

