faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Fear is the Critic

on March 22, 2014

The writing assignment is to write a letter to your inner voice of fear or other critics.

So,fears, you may want to take over my mind,to criticize me or scare me, but
I say that God’s Word, Holy Scripture, has the power to resist fears, and make them flee!
I will use Scripture to answer you, fears.

For God has not given me a spirit of fear,
but of power and of love and of a sound mind. (2Timothy 1:7)
This tells me that you fears, are from the devil.
Scripture tells me to resist the devil, and he will flee. (James 4:7b)
Surely I will resist you fears!
When you flee, I will turn away.
I will trust God, because scripture says,
Trust in God with all my heart and lean not on my own understanding.
In all my ways acknowledge Him, and God will direct my paths.” (Proverbs 3:5-6)

God has plans for me.
Even if I do not know all those plans yet,

I am walking the path He shows me.
He guides me.
And I know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him. (Romans 8:28)

Who are you fears, to challenge God’s plans?
I know from Scripture, that “If God is for us, who can be against us? (Romans 8:31b)
Certainly not you little fears!
You cannot stop God!
Scripture convinces me that neither death nor life,
neither angels nor demons,
nor anything else in all creation,
will be able to separate me from the love of God in Jesus. (Romans 8:37-39)

Oh fears, you have no room here!
You may distract my attention at times,
but I will continue to resist you.
I will pray to God for protection.
For in the Lord’s Prayer to the Father,
Jesus says, “Deliver us from evil”.
So I will pray to God for deliverance from you fears.

Your power is dwindling.
I barely hear your voice now.
Jesus has already beaten you.
I will keep my eyes, my heart, and my mind focused on Jesus.
Jesus loves me, and I know that you do not.
I praise God for the power of His Scripture!

8 responses to “Fear is the Critic

  1. Thank you for sharing your fears and your response to them using scriptures. I love 2 Timothy 1:7 and use this verse often in my own life. Visiting you from (in)couraging writers. Keep writing!
    Mary

    Like

  2. Yes!!! Battling lies with His truth. Praying those scriptures settle deep in your heart friend. Well done!!!

    Like

    • Tonya, I hope to do just that. Your comment has reminded me that I need to memorize these scriptures I mention in this post, so I can use them when I need to push back fears. This writing assignment was really helpful to me. I am blessed by this writing group. I am so glad I found it!

      Like

  3. Yes, that is how it is done, courageous lady! 🙂 keep on being brave and trusting in His awesome power 🙂

    Like

  4. Alecia says:

    So many of the verses you quoted here are my ‘go-to’ verses when it comes to battling my fears and insecurities. Love how you wrote this out!

    Like

Share your comments

