faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

It’s Lent! (with a free Bible)

on March 9, 2014

I know that not all Christians practice Lent.
I grew up Catholic, so back then I would give up something for Lent.
Usually I would pick a food to give up.
Traditionally, Catholics give up meat.

I left the Catholic Church a long time ago,
and I was baptized into Christianity when I was an adult,
and a mother of 2 children. I found out that some Christians do practice Lent.
For me, EASTER is so important to my life,
that I want to make it special.
Lent does that for me.

I don’t give up a food.
I read a book. It could be devotionals specifically for Easter.
It could be a Bible study.
I choose something that will put my attention on Easter,
and prepare my heart and mind for the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ,
and my thankfulness for being saved.

This year, I am doing something a little different.
This year I am reading the entire New Testament,
during the 40 days of Lent.
This is not my idea.
I am joining Margaret Feinberg in her 40 Day Lent Challenge.

I started reading a couple days ago.
I am still reading in Matthew, but I am already blown away!
I am reading the New Testament in The Message version.
I have not read The Message before, which is why I chose it.
I wanted this experience to bring me to a new understanding of Jesus, and the scriptures.
I think I am in for a wild ride!
I love it!

If you would like to read the New Testament between today and Easter,
you can join us.
We just started last Wednesday,
and since we only are scheduled to read Mon – Fri,
you can add in a Sunday reading and catch up in a few weeks.
You don’t need to be reading the same passages we are.
In fact, you can read more on some days, and skip a day here and there.
It’s flexible.

I provide a link below, to Margaret Feinberg’s website.
You can learn all about it, and get your free Bible download from YouVersion.
In YouVersion, you can choose any Bible version you want.
You can read the Bible from your iPhone or IPad, Android device, or your computer.
This will really make your Easter special!
Don’t wait. Use the links below, and get started getting to know Jesus all over again!

This link will give you the free Reading Guide (about 7 chapters each day you read)
http://mar.cta.gs/09r

This link is where you can download your free Bible from YouVersion
Just click the phone icon (bottom left) of the YouVersion page to download the free Bible App.
https://www.bible.com/reading-plans/867-the-40-day-nt-challenge

This is the link to Margaret Feinberg’s website for more details about the Lent Challenge.

#LentChallenge
One response to “It’s Lent! (with a free Bible)

  1. I hope you decided to do the #LentChallenge. Tell me how it’s going for you!

    Like

Share your comments

