faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Priorties

on January 19, 2014

Reading comments on a blog recently, I was nodding my head at each person’s problem.
Yes, I need to exercise more.
Yes, I need more time to do what I want to do — write.
I need more money.
I have doubts about what direction I should go.
I have fears about the future.
Yikes!
But then I remember my word for this year, “Come”.
(James 4:8a) “Come near to God and He will come near to you.”
This brings it all into perspective.

My dreams of writing a book can wait a bit longer.
Questions can wait to be answered.
But right now. Today. This minute!
I need to come near to God
and He will come near to me.
This can’t wait.
I can’t do this life alone.
I need God’s help. I need God’s perspective. I need God’s wisdom and comfort.
So, I close my eyes, take a deep breath then let it all out,
and ask Jesus what He needs to tell me today.
I listen for an answer. I breathe in the love of God.
I let go of the doubts, fears, and worries. These can wait.
God cannot wait another minute.
I need Him.
Thank you God for speaking to me today,
when I stopped to listen.

Share your comments

