faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

An Invitation

on January 12, 2014

I said I would tell you why my one word for 2014 is “Come”.
Last year, for the first time ever, I embarked on a scripture memory journey.
I joined in with a bunch of other ladies who follow the same blog.
We memorized 2 verses each month. We chose whatever verses we wanted.
One of the verses I memorized was James 4:8a “Come near to God and He will come near to you.”
When I chose this verse, I just liked how it was the balance to James 4:7b, which I also memorized.
“Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.”
The two of these together are very powerful!
Although, I have been working on using the armor of God and resisting the devil, so he will flee,
I was not getting the full affect of the second part, coming near to God.
Now, the church of which I am a member, is in the last few weeks of finishing a new building,
which we will move into later in January. I was going to participate in a tour of the building,
so that morning I prayed for all the people that will be helped once this building is open.
During my prayers, with my eyes closed, I saw Jesus standing in the open doorway,
of the new church building, with His hands outstretched, saying, “Come”.
This overwhelmed me with the Holy Spirit, recognizing the power of that one word from the mouth of Jesus.
I knew that many, many people would come.
I was so happy I am blessed to be a part of God working in so many new lives through this church.
I knew right then, that “come” was my word for this year, and James 4:8a was the verse to use to give it meaning.
Next I will embark on giving that word and that verse meaning directly into my life.
That will come in upcoming posts. I hope you will join me in the journey of coming near to God.

One response to “An Invitation

  1. […] –In 2014, my One Word was “Come”, as in “Come near to God, and He will come near to you.” (from James 4:8) (To read that post, go here.) […]

    Like

Share your comments

