faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Just One Word

on January 5, 2014

Many people try to make New Year resolutions.
This doesn’t work very well for me.
I don’t stick to New Year resolutions.
I don’t get motivated. I just get discouraged.
The last couple years I have been using Just One Word.
Other people like Ann Voskamp have done this too.
I pick one word to be the theme for the entire year.
I find this to be more motivating.
I can see some progress along the way,
and I can look back at the end of the year, and see changes.

Last year I chose the word, Trust.
The theme was to Trust in God with all my heart, as in Proverbs 3.
This year, I am choosing the word — COME!
As in James 4:8, “Come near to God and He will come near to you.”

You don’t have to be a Christian to do Just One Word.
You don’t have to use a Bible verse to give it direction.
Anyone can use Just One Word to motivate them,
instead of a New Year resolution.

Would you like to use Just One Word?
It is best to use a word that has meaning to you.
I would enjoy knowing what one word you pick, if you want to share in the comments section.

In the coming weeks, I will talk about ways to come near to God, and
why I chose the one word, “come”, for this year.

6 responses to “Just One Word

  1. Lisa Larson says:

    Janet, I’m so glad you stopped by the GSD site today. I have loved looking over your blog and reading your thoughts. I am sorry 2013 was such a hard year for you. It was for many, our family included. We will be sure to keep your daughter and her family in our prayers as they try to rebuild their life and put the pieces back together. I love your one word for the year, and the scripture you have chosen from James to go with it. Truly coming closer to the Lord is what gets me through the hardest of times, and keeps me from losing hope. God won’t leave you hanging, so hold on tight 🙂 Grateful you’re on this journey with us!

    Like

    • Thank you Lisa for checking out my blog! I love the “God-Sized Dreamers” site.God-Sized Dreamers I appreciate your encouragement and prayers for my daughter and her family. The tornado that destroyed their home has left them traumatized and starting over from nothing but themselves. I am praying that I can share my Just One Word — “Come” with her and her family, so they can also come nearer to God this year. It may be the best help I can be to them. Thank you for caring, Lisa, and for taking the time to respond here.

      Like

  2. What a beautiful word to encourage you to step out in faith! Blessings on your year!

    Like

  3. Mimi says:

    I love the tie in with your one word and a scripture verse to give it focus. I only make 1 New Year’s resolution which is to read 50 books a year. I gave up making others years ago because each day to me is a new day that I can begin a change. I’m visiting from the incourage writers group.

    Like

Share your comments

