faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Thoughts on Advent

on December 8, 2013

I wasn’t familiar with the practice of Advent.

Last year I read through a devotional by Ann Voskamp.

 I am following her new Advent posts for this year,A Holy Experience

at www.AHolyExperience.com  and I am finding it is helping me focus more on the meaning of Christmas.

Tracing the steps in time to the moment our Saviour is born in Bethlehem.

There were some Christmases that seemed to fly by, before I knew what happened.

Those years, I always felt like I missed something. 

There were decorations, and presents, and lights, but no spirit.

Following Advent, focuses the season on God and the birth of Jesus.

Advent starts on December 1, and continues every day until the 25th.

Traditional Advent also includes the lighting of one additional candle every day.

I am not doing the candle lighting, but Jesus is the light of the world,

so maybe I will just light 1 candle on Christmas. 

Another Advent devotional I am reading is by Margaret Feinberg, called “Unwrapping Advent”.

It is available as a download at www.MargaretFeinberg.com 

This devotional has some questions for you to ponder and respond to.

Margaret’s devotional makes me think about the purpose of the Christmas season.

It makes the season more personal to me.

If you are not that familiar with the practice of Advent,

perhaps you would like to look at some of the Advent posts at the links above.

You just might find your Christmas this year, to be the most meaningful yet.

I am enjoying both of these Advent devotionals. 

They are making Christmas fresh and new, and inspiring. 

I would say that Christmas should bring peace, hope, love, joy, laughter,

and inspire awe at what God has done.

Have you found a special tradition that makes your Christmas joyous?  Share it with us in the comments below.

Share your comments

