faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Dealing with a Down Day

on February 27, 2013

Do you have “down days”?  I think we all do now and then.  Today I am having a down day.  I feel frustrated because several things in my home have broken down in the last couple weeks — our heat pump stopped working and it took 3 cold days to get it fixed; our garbage disposal stopped working and had to be replaced; a crown fell off a tooth and my bridge for another tooth did not arrive, so I spent 2 uncomfortable hours at the dentist, but still no bridge; my dishwasher sprung a leak onto the kitchen floor; and yesterday it rained, and the roof over the upstairs bathroom started to leak.  So, this morning, I felt wore out, frustrated, and not happy — a down day was starting.

I don’t like down days.  Usually, I just grumble through the day, and avoid people.  I might call someone to complain about my problems.  But today, I decided I didn’t want to have a down day.  So, using Ann Voskamp’s book “1000 Gifts” as inspiration, I sat down and started listing things I am thankful for.  I am thankful for warm blankets, my soft robe, clean running water, my toothbrush, washcloths, fresh strawberries on my cereal for breakfast, birds singing ….  I ended up with 150 things or people I was thankful for.  That did make me feel a bit better.

Then I read a blog post from Elaine Cougler.  She shared a video of a lady who wrote letters to people as random acts of kindness.  That cheered me up a bit, so  I watched another video about random acts of kindness.  You know what?  I actually feel a lot better!  It doesn’t matter as much that so many things need repairs.  Seeing people who want to help strangers just out of kindness, made me feel better.  So then I thought as my act of kindness to you, I would write a letter to you in my blog post, and I would share a different video about random acts of kindness to make you feel even better too.  Maybe you will be inspired to do a random act of kindness…

Dear blog reader,

I am so happy that you decided to read my blog today!  I like to write blog posts, but it makes it more enjoyable knowing someone is going to read it.  I don’t always know what you are interested in reading, but I try to write about topics that would be helpful to you.  If this post is helpful to you today, I would love for you to write a comment below!  But if you don’t have much time, you can just click “Like”.  That would make me smile.  I hope by now you are thinking of things that make you smile.  Maybe kids making a snowman in their yard.  Maybe a hot cup of coffee in the morning.  Maybe a good song on the radio.  I hope you have a really good day today.  Remember I am thinking about you today, and wishing you well.  I will be writing to you again soon.   –Janet

So here is the Random Acts of Kindness video I promised to share with you today  (It’s only 3 1/2 minutes.) (You will have to click it, and then click again to Watch on Utube.  Sorry.)   Enjoy!  It will make you smile!

5 responses to “Dealing with a Down Day

  1. Maria Marino says:

    Thank you Janet for sharing your UPlifting journey through you DOWN day. I enjoyed reading how your day was transformed and the video you included in this post. Wasn’t it fun and amazing listing those things and people you are thankful for?

    Like

  2. Maria, It is so amazing to transform a day just by noticing the good stuff, and letting God’s light shine on the day. Glad you enjoyed reading my post. Thanks for the encouragement.

    Like

  3. Hey, all you people that clicked “Like” — THANK You! You have lifted my spirits today, and made me smile!

    Like

  4. Janet, i can understand how you must have felt with all those “attacks” at once… and love the way you purposed to get out of the blues too. Great ideas about writing letters as random acts of kindness. I LOVE that. Thanks for stopping by my site too! You picked up my day today!

    Like

    • Pam, It is so encouraging to blogwriters to know that someone “gets it”. We write from our hearts, and we hope that someone will understand, be uplifted, or find a new idea from our writing. So from one blogwriter to another, Thanks for taking the time to write your blog, and for leaving a comment here. I appreciate it.

      Like

Share your comments

