faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

Answered Prayers — a miracle!

on February 14, 2013

My husband and I recently started a home Bible study group through the church where we are members.  The pastor in charge of small groups, wanted us to share our story at the first meeting, then each week other people would share their story.  I shared my story with them, so now I believe I need to share my story with you, too.

My husband and I just celebrated our 13th wedding anniversary.  It is a special anniversary, because I wasn’t sure we would make it to this anniversary.  Six years ago, I was diagnosed with a form of uterine cancer.  The Doctor who performed the surgery said I was cured, but he was wrong.  The cancer came back.  He said no more surgery could be done, and he would only be able to give me a little more time.  We went to a different Doctor, who I heard about from a woman who leads a ladies’ Bible study in her home, and I was a new member of her group.  This new Doctor wanted to do another surgery.  We had some people start praying, and we prayed all the time.  The Doctor did the surgery, but it was more difficult than he expected.  He said the cancer had spread all over, and I didn’t have much chance to live very long.  We decided to have the cancer treatments and hope for the best.  The chemotherapy and radiation took one year.  I was bald most of that time.  Then the cancer came back again, but only one tumor, so I had more radiation.  The Doctor thought the radiation might reduce my pain, and there were no other options.  Then he wanted to wait six months and do the tests over, and see how the cancer progressed.  I didn’t like this plan, so I decided that this was an opportunity to show that through prayer, God could heal, when doctors could not.

As the Bible says to do when you are sick (see the verses quoted at the bottom of this post), I contacted the head minister and elders of our church.  They prayed over me and anointed my forehead with oil.  The ministers at the church continued to pray.  I contacted everyone I knew, friends and family, to ask them to pray for me.  I was put on the prayer list of several churches.  I prayed, and told God that my life was in His hands, and I would accept whatever He decided to do.  Whether I died and was given a new healed body in Heaven, or whether He healed the cancer and gave me more time to live on Earth, I would be happy.  My husband and I continued to hope and pray for a cure, even though several doctors said there was nothing else they could do.

In six months, the tests came back — No change.  The radiation had stopped my pain.  My Doctor wanted to wait another six months and do the tests again.  He was sure the tests showed that cancer was still there.  Everyone continued to pray.  More tests were done — Still no change.  At my last appointment with the Doctor, after another round of tests after another six months, the Doctor came into the exam room, and simply said, “You are a miracle.”  I said “God is good.”.  My husband and I laughed with joy!  I continue to have no sign of cancer.

Of course we shared the happy news with everyone who had been praying, and many thanks of praise were given to God.  I also started praying to know what God wanted me to do with the extra time I now had to live.  I feel that each birthday, each holiday, each anniversary, is a miracle.  I know that God has a plan for my life, so now I am seeking His direction and following it as best I can.  This blog is one direction I received from God.   The home Bible study my husband and I have started is another direction.  We had been praying for a ministry we could do together, but the timing wasn’t right, because I was too sick, but now God has shown us that it is time.  God also directed me to share my story of God’s healing with others.  I continue to find ways to express my thanks to God through ministry, as He directs.  I am excited to see what else God has planned.  God keeps surprising me!

I hope you will be encouraged by my story, and know that miracles do still happen.  I hope you will know that God answers prayer.  Don’t give up hope.  Keep praying, and be willing to wait and see how God will answer.  I fought cancer for five years.  Only then did God answer with a healing from cancer.  I should tell you, that God left me with scars from my battle with cancer.  I now walk with a cane and a foot brace.  I see this as a reminder of how hard the battle was for me, but it was not too hard for God.

If God also gave you a miracle, please briefly share your story in the comment section below.  I would love to read about it.

James 5:14-16 (NIV)   14 ” Is anyone among you sick? Let them call the elders of the church to pray over them and anoint them with oil in the name of the Lord. 15 And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise them up. If they have sinned, they will be forgiven. 16 Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.

6 responses to “Answered Prayers — a miracle!

  1. bellasmomwvu says:

    Thank you for sharing your story! It truly touched me. I have had several scares with bad mammograms within the past year and this just encouraged me to continue doing what I have been doing….seeking and trusting in God. I will be praying for you and your husband as you continue seeking His guidance within the ministry your hearts desire. Hugs!

    Like

    • Thanks for your encouragement! I really needed that this week. I hope that my story will give others hope. I am glad you have been taking care of your health, and am thankful that you only had scares, not anything worse. Thank you for praying for us. It truly helps to know that you are praying. –Janet

      Like

  2. Jennifer Bandy says:

    mom, what a good story! I Luv how the doctor said that. ‘you are a miracle.’ was that recently?
    I luv you mom and I have thankful that you are still here with me to call whenever I need to chat 🙂

    Like

  3. Linda says:

    So glad to have been part of witnessing your miracle! Thanking God for your life Janet!

    Like

Share your comments

