faithcounts

Following God One Step at a Time

A New Year With New Choices

on January 5, 2013

It is the new year, and we all like to think positively for the coming year.  We are hopeful that 2013 will be better.  We are hopeful that we will do better.  Some people make new year’s resolutions.  I don’t like choosing resolutions, because they usually point out faults.  If we choose to lose weight, then we must be too fat.  If we choose to exercise more, then we must be lazy couch potatoes.  Last year, purely by chance, I chose one word to be the focus of my year.  Last year I chose “Joy”.  Actually it chose me, because I had never heard of that before, to choose one word to be my focus for the year.  I really enjoyed my year of “Joy”.  This year I decided to again choose one word for 2013.  I read some other blogs on this topic. (Who knew that this was being done by lots of other people?  It’s almost a movement.)  Ann Voskamp’s blog (www.aholyexperience.com)  discusses it, and she chooses the word “In” for 2013.  Even a book has been written on the subject by Mike Ashcroft and Rachel Olsen, “My One Word: Change Your Life With Just 1 Word”.   Of course, choosing one word to be my focus for the year, should not be done without some thought.  Although I had enjoyed using the word “Joy” last year, I didn’t think it was a good idea to choose it again.  I considered words that other people have used in the past, like “thanks” or “love”.  I decided to ponder this a bit longer.

Then another “movement” helped me choose my one word.  Both Ann Voskamp and Beth Moore have recommended memorizing scripture.  They indicate that memorizing scripture brings about amazing changes in your life, makes you a better person, and brings you closer to God.  I decide to commit to memorizing scripture along with Beth Moore’s blog followers (see http://blog.lproof.org/2013/01).  They commit to memorizing 24 verses in 1 year (2 per month).  I worry that I won’t be able to memorize that many, but I decide to at least try.  Last year, I memorized 1 verse, just one, and I surprised myself at how quickly I memorized it and that I still know it by heart.  This year I will attempt to repeat this effort 24 times.  So now, I need to pick my first verse to memorize.

In the mail, I got a small booklet from Joyce Meyer Ministries on trusting God.  One of the verses she includes is John 10:27, (Jesus says) “My sheep listen to my voice; I know them and they follow me.”  I like this verse and decide this will be the first one I memorize. In fact, as I write this, I already can say it by heart.  I am tickled that I now can say two whole verses by heart!  I know it is a small accomplishment, but for years, I just could not memorize scripture.  I would just remember the basic idea of it, but not the exact words.  Now I have my first scripture verse for the year.

So maybe you have guessed it, my word for 2013 is “Trust”, specifically meaning “Trust in God”.  Once again, the word really picked me.   I can’t wait to see how “Trust” is going to change me this year.   Would you like to choose a word to represent your new year of 2013?  If you do pick a word, please share it in a comment below telling me what word you chose.  Did you pick a word last year for 2012?  Who knows, I might use one of your words for 2014.  I think this year is going to be amazing!  It has certainly gotten off to a good start!

5 responses to “A New Year With New Choices

  1. I’m with ya on the TRUST thing!!! Trusting God, His timing, His plan, and His will and especially when I see no apparent “movement from Him. Watch. Wait and see. This is how I will trust Him!!! Faith, hope and love, Dana

    Like

    • Hi Dana! Yes “trust” is going to be a big test for me this year. In the past I have gotten side-tracked by doubts, but knowing God works in His own time in His own way, is really going to help me trust Him and forget the doubts. Thanks so much for your comment.
      God is blessing you today.
      –Janet

      Like

  2. bellasmomwvu says:

    So glad you are doing the Siesta Scripture!!! I’m glad I stopped by because I really enjoyed this post. I am very interested “My One Word”. I hadn’t heard of that until now. Good luck with your scripture memorization! Will be praying God sends blessings of joy your way! :o)

    Like

    • It is fun to meet someone else doing the Siesta scripture memorization! I have done the “one word” for the year last year and this year. It is motivating to me. I prefer it to a New Year’s resolution. Is there a word you would use for this year? Maybe Renew? Just wondering.

      Like

  3. […] –In 2012 I chose “Joy”.  In 2013, I chose “Trust”.  (You can read that post here.) […]

    Like

Share your comments

